THOSE THINGS THAT MAKE US UNIQUE

in #life7 years ago

"When you are the only person in your right mind, you seem the only insane person."

Criss Jami.


the-creative-exchange-365158.png

We have been raised under a motto or a couple of mottos better said that might sound a bit contradictory if we take them out of context. On one hand it has been emphasized in transmitting values of human equality, respect and tolerance to others and regardless of the circumstance we always hear this phrase:

"We are all equal regardless of race, religion, belief or ethnicity."

On the other hand we have a motto where we are all different, and we have something that identifies us as unique and incomparable, clearly this refers to those little tricks that make us unique beings.

"We are all unique and unrepeatable, no one is going to be the same person as another"

But what are those things that make us unique? or at least those attitudes or habits that prove to us that there is something in our behavior that seems not to be in anyone's records.


Whether inculcated or acquired, we all have a couple of thing that distinguishes us and usually is something crazy, shameful and often even a taboo.
I will briefly review some of these attitudes that affect me personally, and as I said before are not all created by our own, many of these were imposed by someone else.


florian-klauer-253.png

CHILDHOOD



Most of these events happened during childhood, and my case was no different, and one of my biggest follies in this aspect goes back to my early years.
From the moment I was born I was always a night owl, my mother's stories always talk about my energy-filled nights and sleeping all day on a sofa. My mom began to change my habits little by little to adapt my sleep to the "normal" hours in my hemisphere, and she had no better idea than to keep me awake during the day by making me sleep small naps, and the only way she had to make myself go to sleep was turning on an old fan that seemed to have the engine of a train inside.
Every day my mother would turn on this machine with monotonous and constant sound and I as I could I managed to walk to the bed to sleep, years passed and I find myself to this day almost on my 32 years old sleeping with a fan beside the bed like a rule, no matter the season or if its cold, nor the time, the sound of the fan is what makes me sleep, and the sense of silence has an insomnia effect that at times scares me.


ross-findon-303091.png

PHOBIAS



We all have been through this, and although many of them do not even have the right to receive such a denomination, we have put everything in the same bag. But beyond that, these types of events are very personal and each one knows the level of stress generated by their own phobias.
One of my strangest repulsions is polyphon, I could not find this as a phobia on google and I have not yet met anyone with this same problem, that synthetic material used to make the old mattresses and pillows have an amazing power over me.
Just looking at it causes a lump in my throat and a horrible sensation of tingling in my hands, but this does not even come close to what I feel when it comes to touch this material, a feeling of dryness in my hands and mouth, a constant tingling that goes up the arms and seems to be eating the nails. I honestly do not remember when or how it was that I acquired this fear or disgust for a piece of synthetic material, but it always amazes me with the way it affects me.


krista-mcphee-345991.png

UNNECESSARY ANNOYANCE



There are a couple of situations that involve third parties that irritate me a lot, and to be totally honest I feel guilty for this type of situations, totally everyday acts and even many times involuntary they generate me stress, anger and many times manage to behavior in my mind . Listening to a person coughing, or ringing their fingers, making noise while drinking a soup, a sneeze and gesticulation when talking can lead me to a stress situation.
I do not have any right to be angry at these situations, even less when they don't affect me or involve me in any way, but for some reason these situations put me in a bad mood. I do not find much explanation to this, neither when it arose, but it is something that has been with me for several years already.

CONCLUSION



We are all different, we have our follies and our inner problems with which we fight tiny battles everyday, If you can not beat them, join them and this is how we learn to live with these types of situations, avoiding them, breathing twice before the stress floods us and finally respecting the other person. The fact that we are all different includes us within the same group at a certain point.




Creditos:
Photo 1 by The Creative Exchange on Unsplash
Photo 2 by Florian Klauer on Unsplash
Photo 3 by Ross Findon on Unsplash
Photo 4 by Krista McPhee on Unsplash

Sort:  

Very well said. Thanks for sharing 😬

thanks for reading

You have to upload your pictures online to make them work properly. Puttign the name of the file diesn't work, you have to use the URL.

Ok sure man, thanks for the tip.

You shared such meaningful post!
Thank you for sharing...

I am following you @fivefiveeleven
UPVOTED

Your new friend, @hallie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70