BACK TO THE PAST

in #life7 years ago

TRAVELING IN TIME, AND BACK TO THE PRESENT


cover bike.png


MY GRANDFATHER'S BIKE


A couple of years ago I had the privilege and honor to receive the bike of my grandfather, after making small investigations about this bike and having made a kind of interrogation with my relatives, I have finally reached it.
Many will believe that all this work of getting the bike is because it was an Italian bike or something, but no, many will think that I have been blessed with a Bianchi, or a classic Colnago, from the 70s perhaps,a bicycles that today is a jewelry of collection. But this was not the case, but the opposite, a bicycle with an unknown brand, with missing pieces, and in a state that was just pitiful to observe.


Captura de pantalla 2017-08-11 a la(s) 11.14.50.png


WORKING BY HAND


I have already forgot the amount of hours involved in this part of the process, the most cumbersome part, from completely dismantling the pieces that seemed to have been attached one to the other, to the endless process of sanding that is required.
However, there was never any complaint on my part, apart from the fact that the bike was not a jewel, the value it had because of its origin made me work happily, with only one goal in mind, to bring that bike back to life.


Captura de pantalla 2017-08-11 a la(s) 11.14.26.png


COMING BACK


A little more than two months has taken me this process, I've been through all kinds of experiences, painting the frame, looking for a dropbar handlebar in chrome, a classic seat that matches. Suitable components, since the idea of this project was to make it a fixed gear bike, had to change the entire system of crankset, wheels and transmission, everything has been put back.
Going to see how little by little something that you believed was so far, starts to take shape and to show its results, is priceless, it is the best energy and the strength that moves you to not want to leave this behind.


Captura de pantalla 2017-08-11 a la(s) 11.13.34.png


HARD WORK PAYS


Even today I remember the first ride on it. I remember the amount of looks she stole in his parade, it was an unmarked bicycle, with relatively cheap components, all very far from top of the range, and yet it was a bicycle that could see the love that had been put In that work.
Nowadays the bicycle is not in use, it is kept in the house of my parents where I hope it will be kept for a while longer.
Life is just one, and hard work and projects are part of it, the reward and satisfaction after having finished have been incredible.


Captura de pantalla 2017-08-11 a la(s) 11.47.51.png


Greetings my dear readers, I hope this story awakens some family memory, and who knows, maybe motivate someone to go out looking for some family treasure.

STEEM ON

elevenbaner.jpg

Sort:  

Really nice photos you shared.

Great bike restoration, too.

Upvoted and Following.

tommy

The result is amazing! Restoring a bike could be extenuating and sometimes you don't get the results you want, but this one is very nice, great work!

thanks a lot, I'd love to invest more money on better components and a real nice paint from the 80s or 70s with the original graphics, but I didn't have much money, so I made it as beautiful as I could afford wit lots of work. Thanks por passing by, I really appreciate it.

Great post, thanks for sharing!

Great results! Thanks for sharing

This post has received a 1.61 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @fivefiveeleven.

I loved your story; this is such a sweet thing from you to put a lot of work towards something that reminds you of your grandpa. :) Good job, it is beautiful

You did a good job. I'd like to have a bike here where I live in the Philippines. The roads are nicer back in Texas though. I miss Texas.

You take very nice photos

Thanks a lot for your words and for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58