PROJECT TRAILER: Deal gone bad!

in #life7 years ago

Pretty recently I thought I scored a deal on a 12x6 enclosed trailer the top half of the trailer is in mint condition couldn't ask for a better second hand trailer! This post will probably me in 2 parts because I am still battling with this god forsaken trailer.

The Deal

So I was looking for a new trailer for my ATV I wasnt looking to spend much more than $1000. Just something easy no fixing needed. Just something to get from point A to point B. I was on Kijiji looking at them and noticed a ad that was posted about 7 hours ago and it was for a 12x6 ENCLOSED trailer and the owner was only asking for $1500. A little out of my price range but definitely something to go look at after all it was enclosed, so I could use it to store a couple of things if I really needed to. I set up a meeting with the owner of the trailer and it was just about to get dark but not quite. When I arrive to the location he opens up the trailer and everything checks out, or so I thought it did. We started to talk about price and we agreed upon $1000. I had to go and get the money out of the bank and meet back up with him. About 30 minutes later I meet back with him and I noticed a rusted out area on the bottom of the trailer, So I started to negotiate after a few minutes going back and forth throwing counter offers at each other I managed to buy the 21x6 trailer for $600. What a steal! After I hooked it up to my truck he left pretty quick, then it hit me 'why would anyone go down $900 from their asking price?' I shrugged it off and brought it home.

A Closer Look

The next day I got underneath the trailer and started to hit the sides with the hammer to see where and what needed to be replaced. I basically need to build a new frame for the trailer. I tapped right through most of the metal. I manage to take up the flooring to get a better look at it as well. I took off the support beams that was only tacked into place and removed the axle and wheels.

My Plan

I came up with a lot of plans to do with the trailer, worst comes to worse I have a pretty good unit for storage. But what the plan is right now, I am going to try to remove the frame from the top of the enclosure and build a new frame to weld onto the bottom of the enclosure. Hopefully it will go easy but it seems nothing is easy with this trailer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60870.17
ETH 3385.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57