What is the Cost of Living?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

"Everyday I wake up, thankful for this breath of life bestowed upon me..."

But then what? What am I doing with my life everyday? Do I live or just exist?

Life is so precious, ours and those next to us. How are you living or are you just existing too?

So many roadblocks, it seems, but mainly just one, money. It seems everything costs money. At least where I live but where I am from didn't require money to be amused, to enjoy the nature on this Earth.


My family and I at a random swimming hole along the Oyster River, British Columbia

There are days I want to be back home, but at the same time living there was not for me. It was depressing and bleak (it rains a lot!). My personal connections were minimal, but by choice as I never felt I fit in. So why would I want to go back there? It is the nature, the ocean, the rivers and the lakes. Mountains and clear air!


Departure Bay in Nanaimo, British Columbia

The world is covered in nature and all the continents kiss the salty ocean. Home would be the easy option, but when there is a vast Earth to cover and this is where the roadblock comes in, money. To move around our planet we are inherently born to, we have to pay.

We live in such a vicious, sadistic society. Get up, work, make money, give all your money away in taxes, in bills, in groceries.

This isn't life! This is death, perpetual hell. Yes, this is negative but it is truth.
Truth should not be denied because it feels uncomfortable.

Working more doesn't help in the short term. A small percentage can build a fortune big enough to have a "comfortable" lifestyle. Not everyone will be able to create this fortune. Many won't attain it, if they are lucky enough, until the end of their life.

To gain my fortune I must take from all of you, which I don't like doing. I'd prefer a trade in skills, creativity and humanity than cold cash with no true value. Unfortunately, those bills I referred too don't accept cartwheels and squat correction to access energy, although technically energy for energy would make it null in void right? Ah I can only dream!

"I'm capable of anything, as I believe every individual is as well, but I am not interested in working to enjoy life when I'm near my expiration date."

My conundrum immediately is how do I LIVE within a society and city who charges you just to park your car, and now with the bullshit carbon tax to breath? And this is where I come full circle to wanting to go back home. Everything is within minutes whether driving or walking. But I would prefer something new, an adventure. To be on the coast of the Black Sea or Mediterranean Sea, and touring all over Europe until I have seen everything.


Collage made using random travel photos via internet

Yet if only happiness was the currency...no one is happy working but they are happy when they are creating, including writing, drawing, photography, dreaming, laying on a beach, exploring, hiking, skiing, dancing etc... Ah it's a mess, a big mess with no exit. No way to climb out with this belief imbedded so deeply in the want, need and use of money.

Steemit, lovely Steemit, a community of support. An income generator and a currency provider, a money maker...it is an outlet for creating, all of the above I listed off. A generator of happiness and this happiness generates a currency. I appreciate that it is here, only my utilization has been minimal to see the outcome it can produce. It still requires "work".

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog! If you would like to continue to read my writings, please comment, upvote and share to keep them active :) <3 - Fit Mama

Sort:  

Like your post, it does hit home. My goal has been to become financially independent, and get off the grid. It takes exactly what you say, work and money. well I am getting off of that train :)

Very nice post... I wish you goodluck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98