You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If You Are Struggling with a Mental Illness, Do Yourself a Favor and Seek Professional Help!

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I am in a lot of groups for various chronic illnesses due to my focus in coaching for natural weight loss. At least 50 of these are for various types of mental illness and injury including anxiety, depression, adhd, ptsd and others.

Many people are in these groups because the mainstream western system of medicine has failed them. They are addicted to prescription drugs they cannot kick, stuck in a never-ending cycle of medical appointments, and now have additional illness and tests required due to the "care" they are receiving.

I'm not saying the western medicine never works, but the longer I am in these self-help groups, the more I see its weakness.

Additionally, many people with mental illness do not realize they have it. It is hard to seek treatment if you do not know you have a problem.

Sort:  

I am totally with you on this one. For one, the western medicine approach often uses the numbing way to make a patient less active, hyper or sensitive. That's in a way turning the patient into a vegetable state by drugging them. It's not exactly for curing. And it's very true that most patients don't realize they are ill. Some people thought depression is a normal way of life.

Posted using Partiko Android

the numbing way to make a patient less active, hyper or sensitive.

you say this so well, I have seen this remark over and over again in the groups I am in. I do not have this problem and have never had the medications. But SO MANY people in the groups say they wish they could feel things again. The medication has them floating in some way and they want to stop. But they can't because it is so hard to get off them with many side effects. It's a big mess!

I notice that they tend to sleep a lot though unwillingly. The side effects I've read about are scary. They could be serious than the mental issue itself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53