The TV Isn't Real.

in #life7 years ago

cover image
Image source

A few days ago, I began penning down some words from the other side talking about the state of movies these days and TV in general. The inspiration probably came while watching my little cousins watch TV; every channel was filled with unsuitable content that they kept flipping through various ones. Even the so called kids channels weren't all that kid friendly. It was fascinating and funny at the same time. This world; everything in it is all weird.

THE END.


The movies they make are crazy
TVs be killing our babies
and taking away the childhood
they're entitled to
They can't bend an old heart so they start with something new
Feed it all of their old lies, ingrain them into the grand scheme of things
The plot thickens, the land gets more fertile
The clock ticking, we might as well run faster
But not these guys, ultimate chess masters
Slow paced on the outside but more than a few steps ahead of you
I might be crazy, these words just keep coming thru
I don't know what babies this world keeps churning out
It is funny now, I keep coming out
but everyone thinks it's a joke, I'm so funny now
What the fuck if I like boys? There is nothing bad
TV shows on Disney showing me families with no fucking dad
Just two mummies with two kids, what's wrong with that?
Why have a deep playing midfielder when you can have a running back?


Nah, just joking! It's not the end.

Okay so just like every other thing I get to write down without consciously thinking about it, I don't fully understand every part of the text but I get the general idea.

The TV used to be a source of entertainment and a getaway from all the chaos going on in the world. I believe it was supposed to be "make believe" and in that case, it has probably been doing a good enough job of making people believe what they see. From movies to reality shows, our standards as people have slowly been dictated by the stuff we see.

Today I happened to bump into one of the many celebs in Nigeria and I could hardly recognize her. It took my friend I was walking with to stop her and mention her full name before it all clicked. In my defense, it wasn't entirely my fault. Apart from the fact that I didn't even notice that someone passed by us, when I looked at her, she looked nothing like her TV self. All that kept coming to my head was "damn you TV!"

"Damn you TV! You've been selling us stuff that ain't real!"

This is why you shouldn't base your standards on what you see on TV! Just like the kids these days base their standards on Instagram models and what not. People only show off the glamorous parts of their lives and if you live yours based off of that, you'll start to feel insecure and inadequate; It's what leads to low self esteem. Don't be fooled, we all have flaws and there are no superheroes anywhere.

The TV has been doing it for so long and now those here to disrupt TV are taking over. What are your thoughts?


image

Sort:  

This is a fast growing trend as tech is making it easier to be many faced. We need knock ourselves to our senses every now and again, to slow down the pace at which we are approaching Extinction.

Parents should learn to be more concern with their kids. Its not because its much safer to stay at home, then just let their kids stay in front of tv for long time. There much better and helpful things that engage fun to kids which are helpful in many ways.

stop watching tv I did.. I feel so much better. :)

Its unhealthy indeed

I rarely watch but I doubt I can totally stop it as long as I live with people who watch it. It's important to shield oneself as much as possible though.

that's true..

Exactly, mainstream media nowadays is full of vague information. Instead of making the world a better place by spreading awareness on things that will help humanity to better there life ( like steemit were everyone have a chance to chnage its life), mainstream media do the opposite way. They condition little kids mind in violence, take a look on the disney toons.

Di kaya nong kabataan natin s pinas, ang saya. Laro rito laro doon, takbo rito takbo doon. May bahay-bahayan pa. Patentero at iba pang larong pinoy. Ang sarap balik balikan. Bihira n lang kasi ang gumagawa nito ngayon.

Truth
Educative post
Welldone

Bro your writing skills are top notch.

Thanks for the compliment :)

Most of the time television is not good for kids. Although, there are those channels that are child friendly but like you said, the people behind it dont have the friendly heart for kids.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55