Solving Problems By Sharing Personal Experiences.

in #life7 years ago

image of two brothers
Image Source

"Bro, what's wrong?"

Bro smiles and says "Tarrrrhh, nothing is."

Not satisfied, I ask again "Bro, tell me what's wrong."

Then with a weird look on his face, he says "We don't talk mushy stuff so let it slide."

"Haha! True but i'm too unprepared to let it slide today. You have to tell me what's wrong!"

"If I keep talking, I will cry" was his response and at that point, I knew stuff just got real and I had to be serious.

It was the first time we'll ever talk about our personal relationship and dating issues. Yeah we're kinda close and cool but we just never visit that topic but now we had to.

I want to believe girls find it easier to talk about these things, or is it more of a personality thing than a gender issue? I really don't know.

When I asked my brother for what was bothering him and spent about 4 million light years trying to get him to talk (in reality, it didn't take that long, lol), I had to come up with something reasonable to say.

So what was the issue? Very simple. Girl has frequent mood swings, boy tries to keep up and play it cool till he can't and loses his mind. Angry texts go back and forth, then the silent treatment begins.

Yes the silent treatment drives me nuts too.
I should totally tell him that or just tell him he messed up by sending a text in anger.
It's easier for me to say since I've been through this situation like 360 trillion times and only began to learn from it like 2 times ago.

Sharing Personal Experiences

I smiled for a while. "This act is complete textbook stuff."
That was probably not the best opener but it was what I used and it didn't really matter. All that mattered to me was that I made him understand how totally normal it is for him to act like that and the way forward.

Luckily for him, I had gone through the same situation many times over and with plenty of examples to draw from, I was spoilt for choice.

I gave him examples from my own experiences that I thought were a lot crazier than what he was going through (I've been through a lot lol).

Did I start to feel like I was sharing too much? I don't think so. The situation was a very delicate one, I had to pour all I had into it (how ironic yeah?).

At the end of my pep talk, he was smiling and kinda happier but I couldn't help trying to imagine what was going on in his head.

He must have been like "damn this bro been treated like shit for some time now mehn"
"who gets treated this way and still hangs around?"

Well, whatever he was thinking, I don't have the superpower to know that just yet but I was able to lift his spirits and brighten his mood (even though mine was starting to get cloudy).

How do you just give out some advice and life decides to test you immediately? So unfair.

Did I pass the test? Yes! Yes!! Yes!!! It was tough but I passed it.

I shared from my personal experiences, lifted his spirits, then learned from my own experiences too.

Nothing is too much when you're in search of a solution. - Fi

Did I just drop a quote?! Haha life is good!

Sort:  

I'm a huge believer of this technique as well. There's nothing like knowing that someone else has through a similar experience to ease the tension of what you're going through. I find that it always brings a sense of hope to any dire situation. I've used a similar technique to solve countless problems, and I still haven't run out of experiences to impart. Solving problems like this brings wisdom to both parties, which is beneficial for all.

I do agree that men are harder to crack than women, maybe it's our innate stubbornness, so good for you for sticking with it. This was really nicely written, and something awesome to share. Welcome to 62 rep, brother! Personally, I've been in 62 for more than 10 posts now, I think, so I think you're going to progress much faster than I am :D

Boom! Here comes your 63 😊. I guess it grows slower the higher you climb.

Once we're not scared to try out new things and learn from them, we'll always have experiences to draw on. And once you've shared that experience, it's a reminder to yourself never to forget the lessons learned.

Aaaaand there goes my Curie qualification hahaah! I haven't received their vote for quite a while so it's bittersweet that they gave me a boost on my way to not being qualified for their vote.

YES. Very well put. This is "learning from experience" in a nutshell.

A vote to keep the numbers going up :) 64, 65 :D

'74 '75 w/lyrics ~The Connells

Cheers mates :)

thanks for sharing, love it

Thanks for reading it and sharing your awesome comments 😊

you're welcome

wow fin bild thanks

Aw, very cool. So I just responded to you in chat, and corestory. Trying to get my disorganized butt up to speed here, haha! Hopefully you can decipher my ramblings, brain is a bit mushy right now.

I think I've got a few talents and deciphering should be one lol.

Lol..where'd you go? I have someone who will write the next part, go back to chat

King Fi keeps blessing us with these awesome posts!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97