Tales From The Painful Side

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Imagine thinking you had a ruptured appendix only to be delivered of a healthy cute bald-headed girl.
That could have been me but the Lord has been gracious because I can’t imagine how I would have handled the news of an unexpected child.

I was in brain shutting pain last week. My stomach felt like I had soldier ants eating up its right walls. I also couldn’t hold any food down and I had started to feel dizzy.
No kidding I thought about the possibilities of me expecting another child ( and I started to do all that complicated maths of menstrual cycles divided by safe period and inversely proportional to the time of coitus).

Hey! Do not get me wrong, I love children(I have two that are mine) but I just do not like being pregnant.

Anyway, I booked an appointment with my doctor and called a cab to get me to the clinic as soon as possible. The pain was fast making a drug addict out of me and I also had to be sure what was behind the pain.
Some minutes on the doctor’s examination table and an abdominal scan revealed my second worst fear. I had a badly inflamed appendix and had to undergo immediate surgery.

Closely behind my fear of pregnancy is my fear of hospitals and sharp objects.

I was contemplating being hooked on painkillers and antibiotics while I made up my mind but the pain that shot through my brain made it a no-brainer.
There wasn’t a debate to be had. I was going to have the surgery.

I made arrangements for my very busy sister (a story for another day)to take care of my two active toddlers since my husband was out of town while I was making a list in my head of all the reasons why I had to see this through and be back to my life as I know it.

THE SURGERY.

My hospital room was as good as a room in one of the averagely priced hotels but it is still a HOSPITAL room. The doctor that was supposed to lead the team that would carry out the procedure was quite chatty. He explained how the incisions would be made and assured me we would be done with the procedure under an hour.
I had started to relax but soon as I was wheeled into the theatre, my nerves were back.

A catheter was inserted into me and my first fears about this sort of procedures were confirmed. (Where are my wings when I need them? I could have disappeared from that table if I could but wishes still are not horses)

The anesthetist indulged me in small talks as she injected me. I must have fallen into a trance because her voice was the last I heard.
I never really loved supernatural sci-fi but somehow, I did feel like I was cast alongside Benedict Cumberbatch in Doctor Strange. I could see my body on the table and I could hear the doctors’ voices but I couldn’t get up. The world was moving fast in circles and I needed to make the rounds in order to be back in time to fit into my human body. I was about giving up hope when a sudden tumultuous twirl swept me back into my body. I could finally feel my hands and the voices were not sounding like they belonged to the species from the other side anymore.

My worst fear was over and the appendix had been successfully removed.

Halleluyah!!! Sweet relief or maybe not so soon.

AFTER THE SURGERY (LESSONS LEARNT)

Pain relievers can become addictive
My body slowly started aching soon as the analgesic effect dulled. The pain I felt was on a different level. I was told I had to wait a few hours before I could get another shot of pain reliever to rid my system off the effect of the ones earlier administered.
I anticipated another shot and by the time I finally got injected, I thought I was being sent to clouds never before traveled. It must be the 'high' that alcohol and weed lovers crave.
It takes a lot of willpower not to be addicted.

Pain doesn’t automatically go away. It is the darkest just before the dawn breaks.
The good news is I am feeling much better now but the pain from the surgery almost made me miss that stomach wall eating pain I had earlier. Now, that my body is healing. I am glad I had the procedure.

Do not take anything for granted.

I could have ignored the pain and continued on my self-medications and the consequences could have been dire. Visit a doctor when not sure. Health is wealth.

Above all, I am glad I am back but now I am not sure that I will be investing in the 34DDcups I wanted to get myself in future to compensate for intensive breastfeeding. I may just have to live on with cushioned bras and illusions of what could have been because I can say with all certainty that I detest surgeries.

Much love to everyone here. My stomach is still a bit sore but you can tell my fingers are not.

Sort:  

Welcome back sis. Thank God you made it. I am happy you are well now. Smiles!!!

thank you sis. Glad to be back. still a little sore though :)

asides from being a ticking time bomb, i truly am yet to understand function of the appendix in the body. Hope mine just stays dormant till the day I...

It has no use. i read a lot on it when mine got inflammed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72