You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finally Hiking Again

in #life6 years ago

When we took up whitewater, we could do 2 day trips, cover 25 miles of river and never see another soul. Now outfitters haul people down by the dozens per day. It is odd to think my grandkids may never know SOLITUDE in the wilderness.

Sort:  

Yo Fishy! You know, growing up in Southern Cal, a lot of things have gone away. It leaves an empty feeling inside knowing my kids and theirs won't have the hills, boulders and trees and solitude to wander in. I rationalize it's okay because that's what already happened for me. ..I didn't have to hunt rabbit for my meals. Never-the-less it is all disquieting.

It is true - it is very hard to be out and about and be by yourself. It still happens at times at the harder trails. On the other hand, if more people appreciate the wilderness, maybe more will speak up for keeping the national forests from becoming housing developments....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34