You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tiger Moms and Parents Letting Their Child Fail

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Children should be no different from adults. They are motivated by incentives. My children are in Kumon to give them a competitive edge over their peers. I do not force them to go. They are paid in silver weekly for their work.

They do kid's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu too to learn to defend themselves. Again, I do not force them into the program, and they do it because they have fun while learning. I have the instructors to thank for that at our local Charlottesville Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu school. They are awesome!

We also encourage our children to learn at least one more language by buying them books and other things to make the learning process easier. Play dates are setup with other children who are also learning foreign languages. I encourage Spanish, Russian, and Chinese as the best choices, but they are free to pick themselves.

Nothing is forced on them, we do not ridicule them for low marks either, but we do provide them the proper incentives. I also will not move 16 times from K-12 as my parents did to me. My children will have a stable childhood to make learning easier.

Thanks for the good post! I am glad to have found it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65