How To Make a Knife!

in #life7 years ago

I recently got to take a knife making class at a local maker-space. It was very cool class, with a great instructor. We got to play with a bunch of tools I initially didn't have experience with.

In the class we made a santoku style chef knife. This was my final product:
20170829_222647.jpg

We started with knife blanks, and ground the blade using an angle grinder. On your first pass with the angle grinder, you basically make a 45 degree angle all down the blade. On each later pass, you try to smooth down each side of the blade, so it comes to a point in a nice convex shape:
20170828_181722.jpg

Next up we throw the blade in a gas powered forge to heat treat it:
20170828_191327.jpg

Once red hot, quench the blade by quickly throwing it in a bucket of oil (seen in square bucket below my instructor). This will harden the blade:
20170828_191830.jpg

Once the blade has cooled some, it may have warped and bent while it was hot. So you can use a hammer and avil on it to adjust and re-balance the shape:
20170828_192558.jpg

Finally, use a large wheel grinder to add a finish and polish to the blade. You can also some woodworking tools to cut a wooden handle. Drill a hole out of it, and round all of the edges (sorry I don't pictures from these steps). But here is my final product!

20170828_221204.jpg

The knife is incredibly sharp. I'm very impressed. I admit I didn't do every step completely on my own. Everyone in the class needed some amount of hand-holding from our instructor. Nonetheless, I had a blast, and learned a lot. And I definitely have a much greater appreciation for metal work! Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Cute Cat Cubs...

good job, thanks for sharing!

I like it!

Wow nice, i wish i could do it also.

Congratulations @finerrecliner, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2111 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1244.07. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

That tops my sushi making class!

very Educative.. thanks so much

Good looking, sharp knife. A lengthy process, but again it does feel great to create something by yourself. Good job and thanks for sharing this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62