Mytragina Speciosa - a cup a day keeps the pain away - say yes to progress

in #life7 years ago

The opioid crisis - an epidemic with no end in sight. A seemingly never ending battle between the definition of use and abuse of these powerful drugs. Thankfully I have never fallen pray to this silent killer, however throughout my life I have come to see the reason behind their increasing use.

Throughout my life I have gone through periods during which I've had seemingly never ending pain. The origin of the pain were severe cluster headaches which went on for days on end. This led me to increasingly use prescription pain killers such as codeine. However even with the help of these pain killers my problems barely went away. I would be rendered nonfunctional for days, attempting to get back to normal with copious amounts of medication, coffee and isolation from any sources of light or noise.

Luckily, these periods last only a few days, after which I am free of attacks for a month or so.
Throughout these painful periods I seriously thought of taking up harder pain killers.
And this is where this amazing plant comes in. A short term solution to my problems without committing to a regime of hard drugs. It put me on my feet, made me optimistic without any cravings or withdrawal effects.

Mytragina speciosa, better known as kratom is a large evergreen tree. It contains an extremely powerful chemical called 7-hydroxymitraginine, some 12x more powerful than morphine per equal weight. It also contains mitraginine which is a relatively weak compound.
The effect of this plant are somewhat similar to popular medicines. Some resemblances are mu-receptor antagonism. Other effects include NMDA antagonism. What is unique about this plant is its postsynaptic alpha2-adrenergic agonism as well as prevention of activation of postsynaptic 5hta-2 receptors. Giving it a stimulant effect.


Kratom Leaf
thekratomboss.com

This plant is something we do not fully understand. It has a unique profile which makes it one of the safer drugs comparing it with substances with similar effects. It has even been called the perfect painkiller by Susruta Majumdar who is a chemist at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. She has led research in regarding the potential of these chemicals, hoping that it might speed up the creation of next class, less dangerous, less addictive mu-receptor agonists. It does have a history of usage in Thailand. And while not perfect its users represent a shining picture of health compared to other hard drug users.

Sadly the world we live in has a tendency of forcing out things that it doesn't understand. And as expected it is being banned in the US and other countries, preventing any future research into the nature of these unique chemicals. As with any powerful drug, this one too has abuse potential and can cause multiple problems with excess use. But this is not an excuse to block research efforts into mysteries this plant offers.
Through personal experience I can say that further research is without question warranted in this field. Maybe one day the government will learn that much more harm is done by disability caused by pain and disease than a few careless junkies.
Stopping research into a field is unacceptable. And should not be tolerated.
Potential should not be extinguished.

Excuse me for the fast write through. I did not have much time put together a solid article. Comment and I will put together a new and improved, highly improved article on the nature of this plant.


Kratom flower
kratomystic.com

Informal use of Kratom in opiate adiction
http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0955395909001649 -

Susruta Majumdar and her thoughts on the plant as well as FDA ban
https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/kratom-drug-ban-may-cripple-promising-painkiller-research/

Sort:  

Great post thanks for sharing ! 👍👍👍

your welcome!👍👍👍

Everything has 2 sides - a good side and a bad side
I suggest you reading this article : http://americanaddictioncenters.org/kratom/dangers/
Great post tho, Thanks for sharing :)

of course
I addressed that briefly in my article
But by reclassifying it to a class I substance government agencies are not only blocking access to users but also to researchers, which is unjust in my view

thanks for the feedback!!

I agree, Kratom has been a life changer for me.

It's really is a shame that so many of the major vendors are shutting down

Congratulations @filiphbo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65