Mr. Fred Rogers- Our friendly neighbor, our HERO.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Image source

My great hope that Steemians would pay close attention to read this. Very heart-felting and makes one be suddenly aware of something. What is it? See for yourself.


Hoping to be feeling optimistic the other day, I decided to browse and watch motivational videos on YouTube.


Then I came across Mr. Roger's Neighborhood show.
Felt tears and goosebumps just by watching his video in the Senate dated May 1, 1969.


It is because of his genuine heart and honest to goodness speech that the Senate increased the public television's budget two years later.

Video source

What a great source of sense and purpose. I am sure there is no argument in that by now after watching the video.

Leads me to research about him and his great work and efforts.


  • Fred McFeely Rogers. Born March 20, 1928.

  • Took a degree in music and a Magna Cum Laude Graduate.

  • He was an American television personality, puppeteer, producer, musician, writer, and Presbyterian minister.

  • Mr. Rogers was famous for creating music, hosting a show, and composing music for the educational preschool TV series since 1968 until 2001, that shows his kind-hearted, soft, and caring personality.

  • He decided to be in Television when he saw and hated a show full of angry people throwing pies on each other's faces and he then vowed to use the media to MAKE THE WORLD A BETTER PLACE" especially in the eyes of innocent children.


Image source

  • Furthermore, he is teaching the kids why they shouldn't be afraid of haircut and bathroom drainage, stoplights, up to bigger issues like marriage and divorce.

  • He even teaches older guests/people the importance of patience

  • His show was actually watched more than the famous and well-budgeted sesame's street.

  • Even Koko, the monkey watches his shows. :)

  • All the shirts he wore in his shows was knitted by his mother.

  • He has an early to do list: Wake up at 5 AM Pray → Study → Write → Make calls → Respond to fans → Go for a swim → Weigh himself → Then start his day!

  • Maintaining 143 lbs. He does not drink, smoke, or any animal flesh.

  • Why loving the numbers 143? Because 1 stands for I, 4 for LOVE, and 3 for YOU.
    I LOVE YOU

  • He genuinely loves to hearing life stories of other people.

  • The only person that hates Mr. Rogers was Mr. Don Chance, he finds all of him excessive.

  • Because of Mr. Rogers, the show's television budget jumped up from 9 to 22 Dollars.

  • Most people who made fun of him loved him. Like Jhonny Carson and Eddy Murphy,

  • Most of his puppet's name derived from his own relative's name. To mention two, Mr. McFeely is the name of his grandfather and Queen Sara Saturday, his wife.

  • He can make the whole New York City Subway full of strangers sing! Awesome!

Here is another touching and inspiring video of Mr. Roger's television series, Mister Rogers' Neighborhood.

♥IT'S YOU I LIKE♥

It's you I like,
It's not the things you wear,
It's not the way you do your hair--
But it's you I like.
The way you are right now,
The way down deep inside you--
Not the things that hide you,
Not your toys--
They're just beside you.

But it's you I like--
Every part of you,
Your skin, your eyes, your feelings
Whether old or new.
I hope that you'll remember
Even when you're feeling blue
That it's you I like,
It's you yourself,
It's you, it's you I like.


It's You I Like
By Fred M. Rogers
© 1970


Also, television is not enough for his genuine care expression that book was published. A book, a documentary of his beliefs and perspectives.

He has a book! A compilation of his wisdom, understanding and, kindness.
I'll try my very best to find a copy of these hardbound or online for myself to read.


Image source


Here's another short yet powerful song he used to sing. Gives a snappy feeling indeed!


Image source


He was very deserving of the Lifetime Achievement Award he received at the 24th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards- 1997.


Video source

I just have to say, even in the middle of his moment of achievement and success, that he still think of other people.

  • In 2002, Former President George Bush awarded him the Presidental Medal of Freedom.

  • Steroids were also named after him in 2003. The 26858 Misterrogers.


Morning of February 27, 2003, Mr. Fred Rogers died in his home with his loved ones due to Stomach Cancer.

  • In 2006, several architectures and work of arts have been dedicated to his Memory.

  • A baseball team in Pennsylvania wore his trademark jersey in honor of Mr. Rogers. Clothes were auctioned after the game and dedicated its proceeds to a local TV station.

  • March 23, 2018, US postage stamp was issued to honor Mr. Rogers.

The Fred Rogers Memorial Statue in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania made for the very special and kindest hero of the neighborhood. The statue was created by Robert Berks. By November 5, 2009, It was then opened to the public.


Image source

There were countless awards, recognition and honors the world has given to this kind-hearted man.
I loved all his compositions. I used it to inspire and give praise not only to children but also friends and family/relatives!

You're an angel, Mr. Fred Rogers. One of a kind soulful man.

Your legacy lives on!


Image source

Coming from his walkthrough of life, I'm not sure If I wanted to get back to my real-time world.
I started to doubt the deepness of my existence. Am I doing my part of this life's priceless purpose?

What I'm only certain of is that I want to be a better person because of Mr. Rogers.
That we may see kindness in anyone and anything.
That it will not make me less of a person if I'll be the nicer and better one.

That it is free to express care and compassion.


One of the reasons why I love being here in Steemit is the environment this platform makes one Steemians feel.
The support one acquires from the community.
The help the technology extends.
And the golden rule, Do not be harsh, bad, rude and greedy here in our own little yet growing Steemit world.

Golden rule- (I just made the last one up :P ) ^_^V

Smile - and Kindness is contagious! Spread the LOVE!

1280x720-I7c.jpg
Image source


Thank you for reading! ♥
Love you guys! Until next time!

UPVOTE is to Appreciate
RESTEEM is to Support
COMMENT is to Encourage

Sort:  

I believe it takes a good person to appreciate another good person.
Do better to reflect that creating an impact in life yourself. This is one of my favorite posts of yours. Good job, @feye very inspirational!

Wow, thank you so much @cryptoman01! Sending back the kindness and support!♥

This is such a wonderful article. I find this very inspirational. Worth reading and worth watching the videos.

Thank you @lisaocampo, I do too. How I wish there is more people like Mr. Fred Rogers.
The world needs more of him! Don't you think? ♥

Hi @feye! I see in you a great potential and I've upvoted you with 75%-100% of my voting power for your article to have more presence.

This is done voluntarily and I will NOT ask you for anything. However, should you VOLUNTARILY UPVOTE this comment ALL the rewards will be used to lease more SP so I can vote more people like you with HIGHER VOTING STRENGTH giving you even MORE REWARDS. Good Luck and may we all prosper here in STEEMIT.

Great Blog @feye, though this blog is long, its worth it to read.. ^^
thanks for sharing this

Yeah, spent hours for it.
but yes, you are right! It is worth writing and reading. Thank you very very much. :)

very good post! @feye
thanks for great work :)

Thank you @flinter. :)
MY pleasure that you liked it! ♥

thanks @feye,
i love you posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28