The Fear of Not Living: A Post About Buying Expensive Whisky: Stop Postponing Life Today

in #life7 years ago

I am standing in front of the wall of different whiskies at my local liquor shop. I take the bottle from the shelf. I look at the price tag, I put it back and start walking out of the shop. When I get back to the car something hits me (metaphorically): if I die today by some freak accident, I would never have tasted the damn whisky. I walked back, closed my eyes and bought not one, but two whiskies. Here is the evidence...

IMG-20171206-WA0002.jpeg

Firstly, this is not a post about telling you to buy the most expensive whisky and then not being able to get food on the table. I was lucky to get some money from my university due to a bursary. Rather than putting it away in some bank, I went out to buy the whisky. Why? I have a passion for whisky, I love the smoky flavour and I thought that if I didn't buy it today, I would maybe never experience the taste of these whiskies. But why should you, fellow steemian, care about whisky?

I had a recent conversation with a fellow friend on steemit about living to the fullest potential. On steemit there is a myriad of different posts about living the best life you can. So why not add towards that pile of posts?

Think about something you really want to do (that is kind of in reach of you doing it), and think about the fact that you can die now, or that something can happen to the earth that will prohibit you from doing said thing? I don't know about you, but this is scary to me. Why do you want to live with the fear of not doing the thing that drives your life?

I bake bread. The hardest part towards baking bread was the first bread you needed to bake. The fear of baking it was almost greater than me baking it, in other words, I almost didn't bake it. How many people are constantly postponing something they want to do? The hardest part of most things in life is the first step you need to take.

Writing your first novel, remember that a thousand page novel started with one word. So stop postponing and do the things you always wanted to do. I wanted to have those whiskies. I wanted to bake bread, but I didn't know how to and I was afraid of doing it, but I got over the fear and started baking bread. Today I am selling bread to many people. If I never took the first step towards baking the bread I would not have sold any of the bread and I would never have realised my passion for it.

They say the saddest place to visit is the graveyard, because if you listen carefully you will hear all the regret of people who said "I'll do it tomorrow", tomorrow never came. If you realise the fact that tomorrow everything can change, you will change your life. So go out, do whatever you dream about doing, and do it today!

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.33% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

wow great writing one..i think that you ate great creator on steemit..best of luck..✌✌👌😆😆

Thank you so much, friend! Much Appreciated.

most welcome my friend..i wait for your next content..✌✌😍😍

Great post @fermentedphil.
Resteemed!

Thank you so much! Really appreciate it!

They say the saddest place to visit is the graveyard, because if you listen carefully you will hear all the regret of people who said "I'll do it tomorrow", tomorrow never came.

Wow! Strong phrase, it is very true, what you say reminds me of Steve Jobs:

Upvote! great work!

Thank you so much!! I really appreciate the time and effort :D.. That is probably the best tool you can have: If you realise the limited time you have to do certain things in life, you will most certainly go at most things 100%.. Getting things done is the most important thing in life: at least once a day you have to reach some goal, or stepping towards some goal, otherwise that day went wasted.

Congratulations @fermentedphil! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77