Sort:  

Very interesting. I think so much of philosophy comes down to how we use language, so this wouldn't surprise me at all if our language does shape our world views by shaping our modes of thought. Nice post.

I believe so as well. Thank you!

I agree with you premise about language influencing the thought process. I speak English as my primary, native language, but I have learned how to speak Spanish and French as well. I have also traveled to a few other countries a well.

I have often heard the way to learn about a culture is through its food. I agree, but feel that to truly understand a culture, one need to listen to the colloquial phrases of that culture. Something I have noticed, is that when something is significant to a group, a colloquial phrase is created to identify with. For instance, the colloquial phrase "foodie" in US culture.

Great article.

Slang and colloquialisms are particularly difficult to translate between languages.

Hm... Interesting article. You should detalize a little your question, but anyway, I will try to answer. I am an English teacher (Russian native) living in Israel. And, you know, I will always recognize Russian Spy speaking English, for example. Not by means of pronunciation or grammar, but according to the way he thinks, speaks, forms his speach.

I wanted to keep it open-ended to see what everyone thought about the topic. Your comment is very interesting. Thanks!

The ol' Sapir-Whorf. I can never decide all the way.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linguistic_relativity

Interesting thoughts... I nominated you for project curie :)

I think that you are absolutely right. The brain (mind) has multilevel operating systems. Consider MS, Apple and Linux. Then consider programming languages(cobol, fortran, C+++, Java, HTML, Basic, Python, etc...there are a LOT) that run on the various operating systems.

Human language is like that....kinda sorta.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63718.61
ETH 3390.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62