You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where Were You When The Internet Was New?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Tried download Quake 1 demo as a kid. 14.4k connection. I gave up after the third day. Mom wanted her phone line back.

Downloaded a rom of Donkey Kong 3 for an emulator. It was the biggest ROM ever. It took me over 3 hours to transfer all of it's 5mb, but I spent even longer playing it, so it's okay.

Napster arose and died very quickly. It was simple. I liked it.

Playing Warcrat II online was a no go. It just kept crashing. Nowadays I assume I was supposed to type my IP, not my friend's home number.

Up to this day, I don't know what is an IPX connection over the local network. But I know I couldn't use it to play Genewars.

Diablo 1 on battle.net rules supreme forever, ever and ever.

Sort:  

Quake was hella fun! I forgot all about not being able to use the net and phone at the same time. I couldn't take the slow speeds anymore and was the first in my neighborhood to order broadband. We had a line out the door of people waiting to use it! No one believed webpages could load instantly. Cost me $120 a month and I had the entire node to myself. Good times!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42