Trying to be More Conscientious | Stop Being a Lazy F*ck | Sticking to a SchedulesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

In my previous post I showed my results of a personality test I took from Understandinsmyself.com. Took this test upon the recommendation of Jordan Peterson. What struck me in the results of the test where how low I was in the aspect of conscientiousness. Meaning basically that I was lazy as fuck and I am disorderly. I want to change this and from what I know about how I change my own personality which I've done successfully before in the dimension of extroversion and reducing social anxiety, is that I needed to learn all about my subject for me to actually do something about it. So I tried to watch as much videos about it from Dr. Peterson but one short video in particular gave me the strategy on how to implement it:

In this video Dr. Peterson explains that the way that people with low conscientiousness can start being more conscientious was to create a schedule and stick to it.

I can't remember where I got it from but I used to schedule my day the night before. I did this for a while before just letting it fade, as I usually do, but this time it will be different. I'm tired of being a fuck-up and not finishing what I started because I let my days go to waste by redditing or watching youtube or netflix all day because I did not make a schedule and stick to it if I did.

One concept that also learned before was unscheduling. Basically this means scheduling your free time first, your leisure time, and build the work time around it. I tried this without much success before because I did not stick to it and I was not specific enough with what I was going to do with my free time. I valued my 'freedom' of doing what I wanted to do when I wanted, not realizing that this was an illusion of freedom. As Jocko Willink, seal team marine, BJJ black belt and now awesome podcaster always says "DISCIPLINE equals FREEDOM."

I've seen glimpses of this when I needed to be more disciplined for my competition camp for a BJJ tournament, but I've never implemented it in my real life in any sort of tangible way.

So starting today this blog with be sort of a log of my journey to freedom through discipline, by making a schedule and sticking to it, by keeping my promises, by not compromising my integrity. It will be an exercise in grit and doing what needs to be done in order for me to truly have what I want in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64