You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stop Spending So Much! Idiot (Part 2)

in #life7 years ago

You had me at "Streaming Services"!

Personally, my stint with Netflix especially made me quickly realize the poorly optimized bandwidth usage and payments for streaming services. It's not so much the price for me that is troublesome, its the poor optimization of bandwidth, and in a sense seems as if you are overpaying for the extreme cost of bandwidth that you're using over time.

You see, I've been a Netflix user since the debut of its streaming services, and to be fair they have improved drastically over time--as seen on a multitude of case studies which you can also read. However, the one issue that I hope they are heeding towards and working to improve is their heavy bandwidth usage to stream shows. A myriad have recorded the amount of bandwidth their Netflix streaming uses up per hour, and on average it was 1GB/Hr--which if you don't know is a TREMENDOUS amount of what we know as "data" that is being used, aka bandwidth.
I actually went ahead and put this to the test, when my roommate was running up our bandwidth up the damn roof, blaming me for my time spent on the internet. I was growing sick and tired, deciding to prove her wrong, so I went ahead and actually recorded the usage of her netflix streaming (which was dang near 20 hours per day = 20GB per day on average) out of the 150GB per month plan we had at the time. Without using any streaming services myself, I saw instantly after about 10 days that our internet speeds plummeted into the abyss. After I revealed to her what I found and recorded, we never had the argument again :).
Anyway, I know I lost track, though I wanted to share a quick story about my personal distaste to certain streaming services, and it just to me bolsters the issue of saving when it pertains to streaming services especially.

Thank you again @kaylinart for a great post, always content I'm able to elaborate on and have a discussion ^_^.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66603.07
ETH 3335.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70