Goodbye Windows

in #life6 years ago

Well Gang I can't take it anymore. I was planing to switch but kept putting it off. And off and off.

Unfortunately for Billie Gates, like a creep ex lover they kept pushing and pushing for updates. How many times they tricked me and I took them back just for my extend a screen to quit working and me to have to go back to old version? At least 4 times, and likely hours each time of lost productivity from having to not do computer stuff when I was expecting to.

I kept putting it off, but Windows has become insane and was forcing an update and twice they forced me into it, without me canceling, and two more times I have to turn off my computer to cancel and prevent them from wasting many more hours of my time--wasting more minutes of my time dealing with this ship.

NO MORE NO MORE. They tried to make me pay subscription fee for word processor and spread sheet. GOOD BYE non free cost stuff hello libre office. Then they will not let me not update windows 10 so they can make it so I can no longer use my share a screen. So tonight I got fed up and dual booted linux. Would prefer to go even further to a BSD/MIT licensed OS but already lost too much time, but by May I hope to get even freer and switch to a free as possible licensed OS so I am finally in total control.

Hello Linux, thanks for not costing money.

Sort:  

Argh, I hear you. The umpteen zillion updates (always at the worst time possible) AND I was pissed that Microsoft word, excel, etc now come with a 1yr price tag. One day, when I no longer have my franchise and no longer need Microsoft products I too will be switching.

It's so terrible. Yea I had to switch to libre office a few months ago. Some formatting issues which are a drag, but otherwise free, with some syntax difference for spreadsheets and stuff. And the processor not as user friendly but if you want to make PDF's so you know it retains format probably good for that purpose. What a croc having to pay yearly fees now for programs largely written 20+ years ago.

welcome to the penguin world, i gave up windows a few years ago and i switched to kali linux and it has served me well and it has no bugs to worry about

thanks yea, so much time lost on windows the past year or two, they really are doing a great job getting people to quit using their crappy non free cost product. I hope to move to some BSD licensed OS at some point

I like Linux compare to Windows it's fun when your system looks different from others. And Linux makes you to lean more not all software installation on Linux is by click.

yea, have to find some good ide's for opengl

Gotta use the secure versions like Tails, Whonix or Qubes. Don't won't the feds knocking down your door.

Yea, i imagine NSA and CIA already see everything so not sure how any other system will do anything but put you into a box for extra attention

yea, nice so far, glad to be done with windows updates!!

You got a 20.26% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @fatkat! Earn 90% daily earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale.

You got a 1.30% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @fatkat!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 15.03% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @fatkat!

You got a 11.02% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @fatkat!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 4.19% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @fatkat!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54