"He ticks all the boxes" Please don't insult me!

in #life6 years ago

Sick of trying to do right, only to get it wrong


What type of person are you?

Are you the type that goes to work and nods their head with a smile and agrees that whatever the boss says and does must be the right thing as they are the boss, or are you the type that will go above and beyond to ensure you are the one that the boss looks to for whatever they need. Maybe you have a passion for the job and want the process to succeed, or maybe you just want to better yourself and give your career the boost it needs to earn that little bit more money.

Well no thankyou

All I see when I go to work is tick boxes that seem to multiply week by week. What I mean by this is as long as by the end of your long tiring shift you have not broken any of 165 pages of the Health and Safety at work act 1974, Ensured Quality legislation has been met and that you did all this by following standard operating procedure's then you will live to do it all over again the next day.
But if one of the boxes is not ticked, then suddenly your pulled into an office with three other people and have 1 chance to explain your action's before your whole source of financial stability is just pulled from under your feet.
This is not what I signed up for when I sat in that interview telling whoever that I was an excellent team player and very ambitious with a desire to succeed. Standard operating procedure's sounds like something you programme into CPU of a robot.

checklist-2077023_1280.jpg
https://pixabay.com/en/checklist-check-list-marker-2077023/

But its not only during work but in everday life too


So you come home from work and you find yourself still trying to please everyone else. Must put the bin's out tonight, your turn to cook, please could you put a load in the washer and don't forget the kid's HAVE TO BE at school by 8:45 am or they will be late for their 9 am start. Not forgetting the mother-in-law needs her grass cutting and we must start saving in June for one day in December.

OMG!
Life Can not be this tedious. At what point does one sit back and say NO, " I WILL NOT LIVE THIS WAY".
Is this what constitutes a midlife crisis, at the age of 34 I think not. But who knows when a midlife really is. I mean who's to say my peak years have been and gone. While I am sat ticking all the right boxes, what am I missing?
Suddenly the thought of living off the radar in a remote part of the world with only the sound's of nature as your neighbours and the woodland floor as your grocery store.

house-889223_1280.jpg
picture source https://pixabay.com/en/house-blockhouse-tree-balance-beam-889223/

I suppose what it is I'm having a breakdown over is that I hate the idea that we are born to follow the rules made by the previous generation and create our own destiny. A lot of people will say some bullshit like "you are I charge of your own destiny". well if I am then why am I going to work to provide food for my family because my destiny would be that my family always have food and we don't rely on the one thing I feel drives people's life more than anything.

MONEY

save-3451075_1280.jpg
https://pixabay.com/en/save-piggy-bank-teamwork-together-3451075/

Well, I have had it bloody rules and people telling me how I should walk, talk, act, sleep, eat, drink, spend, write, read and screw.
I dont drive, that is my choice, but people tell me that at my age I should be driving.

why?

It's my life and I will drive if I want to.
Well, thank you if you made it this far through my personal break down. i nearly never made it this far myself but hey here we are at.....

The End

animated-banner.gif
p.s it's your choice

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by father2b from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You see the light at the end of the tunnel when your day is nearing its end. You notice the light getting brighter as closer as the seconds tick away on the clock. You smile broadens, then collapses instantly as you realise it is not the light at the end of the tunnel, its some bastard bringing you more work.

It’s what I love about steemit. You can be yourself and help others to be their self. then you get hivebombed and all the day’s woes suddenly disappear. Thankyou for your on going support

These are the exact reasons my wife and I decided to live life on the road and travel full time. We are still finding there are check boxes to be ticked but are always on the lookout for ways to remove the checkboxes.

I think life will always throw you check boxes. It’s how many of them check boxes are necessary and that counts and how others react when you can not deliver. It’s cool that you and your wife have stood up to the robotic life and said no.
We are all born free souls and it’s up to us now to live this life how we want our life story to read.
Fantastic reply and o wish you both all the best in your adventures

I think a lot of people can relate. I know I can. Seems there is no end to it either just plod along day in day out then you die. I have been feeling an urge to shake things up a bit myself.
Maybe the feeling will pass wouldn't want to do anything rash.

Exactly. I can not help but feel I was not meant for this life but it is only is that can decide how life will run and if we continue to tick other people’s boxes then who is ticking our boxes. It’s Facebook all over again. For every post we put on Facebook someone somewhere is benefiting from it, where as at least on here we can be free to write what ever we feel and great people like yourself comes along and without asking leaves a positive footprint. Thanks for the comment and keep it up.

Well that's one way to look at it. Misery loves company and all.
It is a pretty sad world if you really think about how many go through life in a zombie state. Just chugging along through the day clicking off all the right boxes.
How nice of you to put a positive spin on it
Maybe becoming aware will lead to changing something somewhere along the line
One can only hope.

Hi @father2b ... Somehow your name slipped off my 'follow' list without noticing, so you haven't been showing up in my feed (I thought you were just taking a break from posting) I have you back on now after checking your page. Have a happy day. Regards.

Thanks average, means a lot that a steemian of your calibrate nor only follow’s you once but twice haha thanks. Yes have been a little slow of late at posting but still very much here. Big holiday post coming next week so be on the look out for that.

Ha...Yes, you must be special to have been followed twice. Go at your own pace, don't let anyone push you into posting like it's an obligation. Life has other matters to attend to at times.
Regards

Congratulations @father2b! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63