The First Day of The Rest of My Life

in #life6 years ago

In my opinion the most blessed people are those who can think, and I don’t just mean those who just sit down and day dream, I’m talking about positive thinking with actions to back it up. My reason for this is that, it takes a lot of hard work and diligence to be 10 steps ahead of the world in positive and actually backing up that mindset with unmatched actions.


Image source

I cannot really say I am amongst the positive thinkers, I used to or I’m transitioning from a day dreamer into an action doer. For the past years or preferably since I had known right from wrong, I have always had this care-free and nonchalant attitude towards everything (I sound like my Mom).

A wise person once said that if a person does not taste failure he would feel like all is well is going great for him, thus, there will be no room for improvement. (That wise person is my dad).
I guess he was never wrong as those were his word of consolation during my time of “the opposite of success” (I don’t want to use failure), cus it's more like a lesson


Image Source

I used to be a very brilliant kid, or so I thought, until a few setbacks due to my carefree and nonchalant attitude. I think I was Lionel Messi just without the hard work, you know talent and all that. Growing up in secondary school (high school for non-Nigerians, I think), I didn’t like reading or seeing a book, but somehow, I was still getting awesome grades, my teachers used to love me then. Back then, my Basic Science teacher was somewhat disappointed that I didn’t join Science Department for my senior days in secondary school (like as if it is only science department that brilliant student must join).


Image Source

It was not until I joined the University, the first year is always easy, at least for me In the Department of Banking and Finance, Lagos State University, LASU. First Class GPA in the first semester, and a 4.3 in the second. My dad was proud. I’m presently in my final year, and although the result is not bad or embarrassing, I feel like I should have done a lot more, still having a Second Class Upper CGPA, but it wasn’t was I envisioned of more like “Daydreamt” about, you now start getting that annoying voice in your head,** “I should have done this better, I should have done that”, “If only I had….”.**


ImageSource

There’s no use crying over spilled milk, I woke up this morning feeling rather motivated, Maybe it has been my recent experience on this wonderful platform, Steemit, I mean seeing geniuses with lovely write-up and research prowess, or maybe it was just destined that today was a turning point for me, from a freaking Daydreamer to a Doer.


ImageSource

Now I have got Steemit, recommended by my brotherly friend @dickiebaah and is currently being groomed by my Steemit daddy @bcrafts (yes @mimy, I now have a Steemit daddy), a big thanks to you guys for being a big part in my transition, I’ve got a positive attitude thanks to everybody around me, the Steemit community, and most importantly to God Almighty, when else am I looking for, or could ever ask for.


ImageSource

One last message for the big whales on here, and I also mean you too daddy @bcrafts, It’s the first day of the rest of my life and I am hyped like never before, I’m coming for you guys, we must make this SBD together.

Sort:  

I am still an humble minnow finding my way in the community 😂😂😂

I hear you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53