Coffee Thoughts — Still Drinking Coffee, Tea Isn’t the Same

in #life7 years ago

I told myself I’d drink tea some days this week instead of coffee.

I do like tea. There are many varieties and you don’t need a refined palette to notice the difference. One tea is vastly different from the next.

Unfortunately though tea lacks the bold punch-you-in-the-face quality that a cup of black coffee has. Strongly caffeinated tea gives me the jitters, I can barely drink a cup of English Breakfast anymore.

Coffee on the other hand feels like nectar of the gods. The caffeine assimilates with my bloodstream much more smoothly and brings me to a higher plane of existence. I become one with the coffee.

I do enjoy tea though. It’s good as a restorative beverage and it has a cool ritual.

The Tea and Coffee Ritual

Both drinks are awesome to prepare if you do it right. You can make a wonderful cup of brew but it requires the right tools and preparations.

With tea, you need loose leaf. The hot water should be a bit cooler than boiling, while still being extremely hot. It’s usually 3-5 minutes of steeping for tea, and don’t toss the leaves out until you resteep with more hot water an hour or two later.

With coffee you wanna grind up the beans yourself. A grinder is ideal but I’ve done it with a mortar and pestle before which is fun, takes longer to do but feels good. After that you put it in a french press for just a few minutes and you’ve got some flavorful cups of coffee.

The ritual is good because it takes time. You do a little bit of work and get to enjoy the final result all that much more. It also makes drinking a cup more of a fulfilling activity and less of a blind form of consumption.

I Might Flip to Tea Eventually

In the past I have gone through long phases of tea obsession. Another one could be around the corner. Some months I need coffee, others I need tea, and it’s hard to say what determines that variable.

Either way I love drinking hot cups of enjoyable beverages, especially in the winter. This cold weather calls for something - tea, coffee, even hot chocolate is good - the body just needs to be warmed up in some sort of delicious fashion.

Follow me @Farazsheikh

Sort:  

Coffee is king. One of my favorite things to do is listen to all of the sounds as my cappuccino is being made. The grinder, the steam the clink and clank of the utensils. You dont get that kind of experience with tea. I have tried to switch to tea a couple of times over the years and my attempts have lasted about 30 days at most. I wrote a litte poem about coffee that you might like. You can see it here. https://steemit.com/steemit/@givonwayne/coffee You have inspired me to go make another cup for today. Steem on!

Honestly I avoid tea (actual tea leaves) due to the possible high concentration in fluoride, as tea the tea plant has been shown to take up fluoride from the soil and store it in the leaves.

I'm not a fan of fluoride.

However, calcium bonded fluoride will potentially do less damage than anything dumped in your city water supply, so there's that to consider.

This is also not discrediting any of the pesticides/herbicides sprayed on/around the coffee beans, let alone any of the fun 'other' ingredients that you may find in your pre-ground coffee.

Pick your poison, I guess.

:)

yeah thats true...thanx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45