THE CEVICHE AND THE MEMORIES

in #life6 years ago

1.jpg

When they brought the ceviche plate to the table I was mesmerized, I was not encouraged to start it for fear it would end too quickly. As soon as I tasted the first bite of sole with sweet potato, I remembered how much I liked this food; and, in less than a second, I was transported to 2008.

I was reminded of the time that Vicky, my friend and travel companion from Argentina, wanted to make me try the ceviche in Arequipa (Peru) and I did not cheer up (it gave me a little noseque that was raw fish). At that time (early in my trip, 2008), I still did not encourage myself to try so many new foods.

I remembered, too, about the time that Fabricio, a Peruvian friend, took me to eat ceviche for the first time. We went to one of the most emblematic places in Lima ("El Verídico de Fidel"), near the Alianza Lima stadium. Fidel, the owner of that restaurant, had started his cevichero "race" by selling ceviche to the players in a cart outside the stadium; over time his little place became so popular that he ended up putting a restaurant (considered one of the best in Lima). There, the ceviche plate costs around 30 soles (11 dollars).

I also remembered the time Mirla, Fabricio's sister, bought me a tray of ceviche at the Atocongo Bridge for 2 soles (less than a dollar) and we ate it in the combi way to Punta Negra. According to my friend Olga, eating a ceviche on that bridge is like buying a choripán of dubious origin for 2 pesos under a highway. It tasted great.

I also moved to Singapore: a few months ago I stayed at Kuni's house, a Japanese couchsurfer, along with a Bolivian, a Peruvian, a Colombian and two Mexicans. Kuni prepared, in our honor, a Latin American dinner: there were empanadas, lomo saltado and ... ceviche. It was as close to Peru (and Latin America) as I was in Asia.

And I remembered the last time I ate it, in 2009, at a Peruvian restaurant in Buenos Aires.

2.jpg

The first time I traveled to Peru I did not really know what the ceviche was (although after trying it, I swear I never forgot it). As some restaurants offered ceviche, other ceviche and some even "seviche", I thought that each name corresponded to a different way of preparing the dish. Then I discovered that just as there is no single recipe, there is no difference between writing it with B and with V.

Why is it called "ceviche"? Some believe that the term "ceviche" comes from Sea Beach, which was the expression used by English sailors to order this dish in Peruvian ports; There are those who claim that this word has its origin in the Arabic term sibesh and others say that it comes from the Quechua word siwichi, which means fresh or tender fish. Maybe one of my friends / readers in Peru can guide me on this. :)

Which ones are your ingredientes? Fresh raw fish (usually made with sole), lemon, red onion, chili, garlic and salt. To prepare it, the ingredients are mixed and marinated in the lemon; then to that you can add seafood, corn, potatoes, sweet potatoes, octopus or any accompaniment to taste. It is the national dish of Peru; such a great pride that it was named Cultural Patrimony of the Nation.

And, I confess, it's one of my favorite dishes in the world ...

4.jpg

5.jpg

"Ani, you're like limbo!" Olga told me as she ate the ceviche in ecstasy.

And yes, it's amazing how a taste can bring me so many memories.

Sort:  

Este Post ha recibido un Upvote desde la cuenta del King: @dineroconopcion, El cual es un Grupo de Soporte mantenido por 5 personas mas que quieren ayudarte a llegar hacer un Top Autor En Steemit sin tener que invertir en Steem Power. Te Gustaria Ser Parte De Este Projecto?

This Post has been Upvote from the King's Account: @dineroconopcion, It's a Support Group by 5 other people that want to help you be a Top Steemit Author without having to invest into Steem Power. Would You Like To Be Part of this Project?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fanycarrillo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39