You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Compulsory Schooling is Child Imprisonment, Part 1

in #life7 years ago

Thank you for writing this interesting analogy! You make a good point and it forces all readers to think and compare. How would we react if adults got a letter about compulsory training?
There are in fact many countries where this happens all the time and is the norm also for adults, Israel being the most well known example. The mandetory training for adults is called military service.

Sort:  

I was going to mention Israel but thought it would detract from my main point.

I agree that it was a good decision to not bring it up in the article. I do think it is appropriat here in the comments though. I do like your analogy but as all analogies this one has some weak points. The fact that it does happen to adults in Israel and many other contries without being called tyranny is probably the biggest weaknes of this analogy.
I enjoy reading what you write!

You're right that most people who are aware of forced military schemes in certain countries don't consider it tyranny. Perhaps that is because they are conditioned to accept it, just as they are programmed to tolerate compulsory schooling. I still call it tyranny! Conscription is slavery.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57