V-Class - impressions of first 6 month

in #life7 years ago

With 2 parents, 3.5 (one in production) kids and an au-pair we have quite a need for space in a car.

Evaluating VW Multivan and Mercedes V-Class (we wanted sliding doors so no SUV) we decided to go for the V-Class with all options.

93CBEF0F-1EBF-46DD-930E-805CC386130F.jpeg

After a few weeks we were able to fetch the car at the dealer.

First impression - very cool. Leather interior and good entertainment and navigation system.

On the second look I was surprised. There are certain option which I consider ‚standard‘ in a full blown meecedes but they wasn‘t there...

  • Keyless go - I thought I just didn’t get the sales person right when he told me I have to get out the key and press a button to open the car. In a Mercedes? In 2018? One thing it is not there but it is also not possible in any way to get it in. Why?!

  • Lane assist - When you are used to it and a car doesn’t have it it is a real pain.

  • Fuel consumption and fuel tank size. On a german autobahn with max speed the tank is empty after 350 km. So driving to the in-law I need to refuel in between. Me usually driving while kids are asleep this is a problem as they will wake up when stopping. Fuel consumption is one thing bit why not offering a 80l tank?

So overall the V-Class seems to be only a small improvement towards our former car a VW Sharan (reaching 600km, lane assist, key less go and even not as expensive). Maybe even an set back ...

I am really disappointed and don’t get why Mercedes isn‘t delivering to the brand promises.

Which 7 seat car would you recommend for a family like us?

Sort:  

It is about making you think from a different perspective..
It is about writing without any expectations of UPVOTES..
Excellent post good analyses thanks for sharing

Ahh it sucks so much when you don't get what you excpect to get when buying something. Always gotta be careful when buying important things!

"3.5 (one in production) kids".. I had to laugh! :-P

I cannot give you any advice, but the car looks solid :-)

My guess is Mercedes was just trying to check a box and the van model was more of an afterthought than anything. The G-Series just got its modern update as well and that thing costs over $150k

this car looks really good

The big family I was mentioned when we discussed about the hotels in the Alps has the VW Multivan (not the Standard Version, I think the Multivan Edition) and is really happy from what I have heard so far - And they have high expectations and have it since at least one year!

Btw, I am just sitting on a long answer to your post about the worth of STEEM, stay tuned ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74