What do you consider home?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

sf.jpg

When you think of home what comes to mind?

For me its the vibrant streets of the bay (Bay area California). I was born and raised here, it has molded me as a person. I didn't realize how truly special it is here until I left. (that tends to be how it goes with things) Once I was 18 and on my own, bay area prices weren't really up my alley. So I found myself up north in a very rural area. I was in the same state but it felt like a different world. I soon discovered how much I took advantage of my hometown. I took the lifestyle for granted, the abundance of things to do at any given moment. How I could walk to anything I needed within minutes. How close I was to the beach. The list goes on

My memories are forever embedded into these streets. My childhood rooted in every corner. The coffee shop I spent second semester sophomore year doing home study in. The park I went to instead of my freshman English final. The tree that always gives me a strange nostalgic feeling whenever I walk past it. How Haight street will always remind me of my time in the mental hospital. The vinyl shop I always loved searching through, the antique store where the owner still recognizes my face. The mall where I got my first job. The bookstore I used to hide away in because it stayed open late and I knew my mom would never go in there. The beach that I always find myself at late at night when things aren’t going my way. How The ocean makes me forget all my problems. How the waves ground me while simultaneously sending me to the moon.

This is where i feel most myself. This is my home.

ocean.jpg

I love how I grew up in a place where diversity is accepted and encouraged. Where we were taught from an early age being different is more than okay. There is an energy here that I can't describe with words. All I know is its engrained in me. Its made me who I am. I'm so appreciative of this place I once took advantage of. I'm so blessed I get to live here again. Although no matter where life takes me this will always be my home.

The silly red bridge that should be gold
The fog, the ocean, the energy. My household.
the place that is never quite hot
And never too cold

flowers.jpg
(I found these cute little flowers by the seaside)

Where is your home? What do you like about it there? What are your favorite memories from your hometown!? I'm interested in knowing what it’s like growing up in other areas of this world!

Sort:  

Thanks for this great writing!

Well I'm from Europe so it's probably a bit different. I was born in Sweden but moved to Estonia for lower prices. Estonia is kind of like Sweden from the 70s. More calm and relaxing place. I also like how it's one of the smallest Europe countries. The smaller the population a country has usually the better run the country is. Would love to maybe visit North America some day. You really had an interesting way of writing content keep doing that. Almost felt like I was reading Goethe for a while.

A big thing with Europeans is how they usually aren't that outgoing outside of their social circle. We like it to be quiet a bit more. May also have to do with that we have had some big wars here in the last 100 years. I don't have any special memories about my town because I'm mostly a computer and phone guy. Looking into a screen is what I find most enjoyable. I do enjoy my coffee shop though. It's a very nice place to eat breakfast at!

Woah! Thanks for the responce! I’ve always loved Europe! I’ve visited once but i definitely want to go back and see more. I love calm and relaxing places how lovely! eeeep thanks for the amazing compliment you are too kind! Also i always find it fascinating how other countries/cultures have different social norms! One of my favorite things to watch videos on is culture shock! It’s so interesting! And i totally relate with the often looking at screens thing!! I agreee on coffee shops, they are definitely nice environments! Anyways thanks for the response super interesting learning more about you and life somewhere else!

Hehe Europe is pretty cool.

But I would not travel there right now since it's very unsafe. People smuggling has created an invasion of illegals. You also have terror cells in most major Europe cities. There are some safe countries like Czech Republic and Estonia. But majority of countries are dangerous and risky. I would definitely avoid all of West Europe. Stay safe!

Congratulations @faerie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @faerie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70