So, my building almost burned down...

in #life6 years ago

True story: Yesterday morning as I arrived in Paris for my connecting flight to Rotterdam, I received tons of messages and missed calls from my friends in the Netherlands asking if I were OK and where was my current location. I thought what the hell happened? My flight had a bit of turbulence but all in all I survived just fine.

Then checking the links they sent me and saw this...
100hoog 1.jpg
Yes... that is my f**king building!

Massive fire took place in a Sheesha launge at the ground level (which was closed at the time), apparently the fire broke out due to an electrical surge. Huge electrical sparks and loud bangs could be heard during the fire from what I have seen in video, so I don't doubt this conclusion.
100hoog 2.jpg

The fire department did an excellent job in putting out the fire, my congrats to them. The building also had a very modern fire prevention system which surely helped. It was very fortunate that this didn't turn out to be another Grenfell Tower... Check out the garage after the fire. 100Hoog 3.jpg

I live on the on the tower, so my apartment was fine, but 2 apartments became uninhabitable and a few others had extensive smoke damage. Most damage was done to the 2 levels of garage and the cars parked there, I believe about 20 cars were damaged or destroyed. 100hoog 4.jpg

What a crazy and sad reception after 1 month away in Brazil, I probably would have had a heart attack if I were there as it happened... Fortunately nobody died or got seriously injured, again, thanks to the great work of the fire department and the building's good fire prevention systems. Hopefully the shops on the ground floor will be more closely inspected to prevent this from happening again.

One thing is for sure, I now have a greater appreciation for my home and my things.

Sort:  

Woah😮 thats pretty intense mate. Glad to hear you or anyone else was not harmed! Crazy story indeed✌

Is that the garage I sometimes use to park my car?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20