They Certainly Don't Make 'Em Like Back Home

in #life6 years ago

9c4aa793-563c-4fc1-be99-b0ec5d055125.jpeg


This little stall has way more to it than simply meets the eye. The photo was taken when last I visited my wife hometown of Guangzhou. Located a mere five minute walk from her family's apartment, every day I'd indulge on some of the best tasting pancakes I've ever tried. Packets of at least five slices were consumed by your truly on a daily basis. The ultra cheap price certainly helped too. Of course, brands we Londoners are accustomed to were all but gone out here, so sampling the delicious wares of these independent snack houses, was just awesome.

One funny memory I took back with me was the lady owner at the stand. She was always laughing and very friendly. But she would also get into full blown conversations with me... In Chinese! I'm sure my wife explained on several occasions that I didn't understand anything she uttered. But it didn't matter. She rattled on and on, with me just attempting to politely nod my head in compliance. How very sweet!

Great snack foods, great memories and a trip looked back with pure fondness. Hope that lady ain't gone nowhere. Next time I travel out to Guangzhou, I need me some more of those damn pancakes! :)


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

These pancakes should be a delight the simplicity of this tent and a fair price ends up giving a special touch in this story!

One funny memory I took back with me was the lady owner at the stand. She was always laughing and very friendly. But she would also get into full blown conversations with me... In Chinese! I'm sure my wife explained on several occasions that I didn't understand anything she uttered. But it didn't matter. She rattled on and on, with me just attempting to politely nod my head in compliance. How very sweet!

Hehehe I so understand that feeling. I am from the eastern part of mi country Nigeria where our primary language is IGBO. But right now I am in the western part of the country where they speak YORUBA. I dint understand Jack in Yoruba but when I go to buy stuffs most times, the vendors get to speak Yoruba to me and even when I try to tell them I don't understand yoruba in English, they smile and just continue speaking coz they don't even understand what I am saying either. It can be funny something's though.

Lol! So you can relate to exactly how I felt then! :)

Those pancakes were delicious!!

I believe this is the famous Chinese 烧饼 (shao bing). The Chinatown in Singapore also sells this and they taste great when hot!

"shao bing"! Man, I'll have to make a note of that. Thanks! :)

It's because that one time you go the universal "nihao" to her. :-)

Yes, maybe that's where I went wrong. :)

haha... I knew it.

Delicious pancakes .... 😋😋😋 c my photography also ... if u like plz upvote

they were great

I don't eat that)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57756.99
ETH 3058.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26