An Unexpected Surprise at my Local Computing Outlet

in #life6 years ago

b2998f00-2357-4719-be99-9e9235922488.jpeg


So, long story short, I need a new keyboard for my desktop computer. The old one decided to call it a day by killing off a few keys every so often. Just yesterday when chilling with a friend of mine, he declared his new found passion in life - drones! Now, I've always had a fascination for "remote-controlled machinery" so was chuffed to see my local having a drone sale for the next week!

Now, I'm not too up on the latest models or makes, even the best manufacturers in the game. I'm a total noob in this arena so if you guys know the useful any info at all, I'd be most grateful for hearing your expertise. The guy in the store mentioned something about a "Phantom" unit that's supposed to be pretty nimble and robust when it comes to flying. But you can never be too sure these days if sales people are just trying to shift stock that "doesn't move itself"!

Anyways, it certainly looks like a fun pastime and one I'll be looking to pursue in the near foreseeable future...


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Look at the Mavic....lots of fun!

Yes! Hearing some good things about the "Mavic"! :)

Still battling with my keyboard. It will soon follow yours. Read of the Phantom, but haven't used it so can't say much about it. You can go for other ones.

Right! It seems to get good reviews, but I'll be gutted if I missed out on a better drone elsewhere. Hope your keyboard doesn't get any worse, bud!

True, most times it isn't wise to take the words of a salesman for it.

I think a user experience kind of feedback is what you need right now.
Unfortunately I too don't know anything about drones but I think some steemians who does will give you the best of advice base on their experience

I've seen quite a community who love flying drones. I'm sure I get some good advice here. :)

Oooh that's nice...

Lots of community on steemit.
One can find almost anything here

I've always had a fascination for "remote-controlled machinery"

So have i.

I'm a total noob in this arena so if you guys know the useful any info at all

Well im not really a name guy, im more of functionality. However, things i look out for in a drone besides the camera quality, are the battery life and flight range/distance, the more the better. Be sure to look out for these as they affect your experience. I wish you the best

Those three factors are what I'm coming across regularly when I'm researching. Best case scenario is if I can actually test out some too, if possible...

Yeah that will be just great

But you can never be too sure these days if sales people are just trying to shift stock that "doesn't move itself"!

Hehehehe really you can never be so sure. They could sell the most substandard product for you and use their mouths to make it seem like the best there ever is.

Quick advice. Browse the internet for good drones. Better still check any online sales platform for prices and reviews from people who have used the drone.

That's a quick way to do this on your own.

Defo, the Internet provides (as always) the best source of info. :)

Sorry about your keyboard, you’ve got to get a replacement. About the drones, they are really cool technology. They are effective and I’ve with witnessed one in action. Drones are really cool gadgets when it come to flying cameras and filming capabilities. Believe me you won’t regret to have one, trust me

For real, it looks like loads of fun. Already, I feel I'm a little late to the party, lol! :)

I've seen some great photographs on Steemit @ezzy that were taken with drones so I'm sure there must be a lot of information here.

Sorry you didn't make it to the meetup while I was still there it would have been nice to say "hello". Next time maybe.

Hope you had fun if you made it there. 😁

Oh yes! I'll be looking to great some aerial shots with it, so wanna go for something that I know has a good camera too. And yes, it was a shame to miss you last night but if I can make it to another in the future, would be great to see you there. :)

That would be fun @ezzy.

I look forward to hearing how you get on with your drone when you buy one. I think I'd be nervous of losing control of it somewhere and breaking the camera but I imagine having gaming experience might well help with the flying it.

I've thought about buying one for John a couple of times but if ever we're in PCWorld he seems more interested in the cameras. Actually a go-pro type thing might be a better choice as he's into cycling and kayaking.

Have a fun week! 😊

Nice! Drones are a lot of fun, and they seem like the kind of technology that started off looking like it might be a bit of fun, but developed a large number of really cool applications.

I'm no expert myself, but as some other people've mentioned, Mavic has a good reputation, especially if you're interested in using the drone to shoot a lot of footage.

Thank for the advice! Yes, I'm now swayed towards the "Mavic" series after reading some reviews and getting some useful info from you guys. :)

I have a cute little mini drone my friend has a much bigger one but it's illegal to use them in so many places now I think they can really damage cars if they land need to go out in the wilderness and go mad!!

Most definitely! I read up about the laws regarding drone and also discovered most parts of London are no-fly zones. I think Richmond part might be an exception though. I'll find out! Btw, was great meeting you last night. :)

Yeah I know right I only know as my friend hAs a big one and he’s like I can barely fly it anywhere 😑
Thankyou was great meeting you too :) thankyou for my upvote too ✋✌️

I'm sure you are already following him, but take a look at @timsaid and some of his older posts. He has been playing with drones for quite a while.

I imagine he has some great suggestions.

I'll be following that idea up, bud. Thanks. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.43
ETH 3781.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55