Homemade Candle

in #life7 years ago

Greetings my lovely Steemians. @eyeofthemind here with a simple little DIY candle. A few months back I decided to get some wax with the hopes of making my own candle and I finally got around to it.
candle1.JPG
This is my first go so I’m no pro. Here’s what I used:

can2.JPG
-About 100g of beeswax
-small drinking glass (I sure hope it doesn’t break )
-prewaxed wicks purchased online
-old beer can to hold the wick in place
can3.JPG
So I started by cutting out a small square from an old beer can. Careful now, those edges are sharp! ;)
can4.JPG

  • Just used a knife and screwdriver on my handy leatherman to poke a little hole for the wick
    can5.JPG
  • To heat up and melt the wax I filled one pot with a little bit of water and the second with wax.

    Melting took about 10mins or so. (I thought it was smiling at me so I took a quick shot...weeeiird)
  • After all the wax melted I poured it directly into the cup
    can7.JPG
    can8.JPG
  • I used this pen to keep the wick straight. (make sure it’s nice and tight!)
    can9.JPG
  • Finally, let it cool…don’t play with it or check to see if it’s done! I went to work and when I came back hours later gave it a light. This has no scent, but I hear you can add scent if you like. In this clear glass it actually gives off quite a bit of light. I’ll be sure to use it before bed tonight as well to set that nice cool vibe.
    candle1.JPG
    I hope you all enjoyed this post. Please, if you have any tips or comments don’t hesitate to leave some. And if you like what you see, feel free to upvote and follow!
    Have a wonderful morning, afternoon or night. Until next time, @eyeofthemind out!
Sort:  

Hey very nice
I wish you luck.put more Designs.
Regards
Crafter.

great job.. it is very fun I bet to do that.. I have done something similar but is has been a long time ago.. I think your photos were great goo

Thank you, really glad you enjoyed all aspects of the post. :)

Lovely and romantic❤️ Thank you for sharing!

It really does provide a very romantic light. Thanks for stopping by

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by eyeofthemind from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

@eyeofthemind thank you appeal to @sportic. Your post and will see more than 4,5K of my followers

That's pretty cool!! Never attempted to make a candle. You make it seem so easy. I will have to try one day. Thank you!

Give it a shot and share the results :) first time for me and it came out alright. you can do it!

Wow! Look like a ​perfect gift for Christmas!

Beeswax its not orange its light brown so what u have there its not a natural wax, carefull cold be toxic that candle!

Thanks for the heads up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51460.37
ETH 2243.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01