What's being build on top of the Steem blockchain. 7 projects to showcase. (for my mom who wants to learn more)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This post is for my mom.

She asked me to write some more about what is happening on the Steem blockchain when it comes to development.

She wants to have a better idea of what I talk about when she watches my vlogs.

I selected 7 projects to showcase. But many more are in the pipeline.


IMG_4620.jpg

I was helping my mom on Monday with some Steem questions. Bianca took this.


All these websites are accessible by using your Steem credentials. It's not needed to make new accounts between them.

They are all connected through the Steem blockchain.

I would recommend that you always use your posting key when logging in to any of these websites.

Anyone can build on top of the Steem blockchain. The data is publicly accessible.

Developers can monetize their projects by asking for a certain percentage of the rewards of the content creators.

Personally, I think this system is beautiful.

Content creators get new products to make content with and the developers get a small percentage of whatever the content creators earn with their product. That's win-win.


Website: Steemit

https://steemit.com


Steemit.com was the first frontend build on top of the Steem blockchain. It recently got an upgrade to it's UI. It's the most well-known website to access the Blockchain. Steem inc. is the owner.


steemit.png


The rest of this list are projects build by the community.





Website: Dtube

https://d.tube


Decentralise videos on top of the Steem blockchain. It's an alternative to Youtube. Users can upload videos here freely and share them.


dtube.png


Website: Dsound

https://dsound.audio


Decentralise Music and Podcasts on top of the Steem blockchain. Users can upload their own music and podcast here and share them.


dsound.png


Website: Busy

https://busy.org


A different Frontend to display the content of the Steem blockchain (like steemit.com). (They are working on a new version it's in Beta). Extra note: They don't take a percentage of earnings.


busy.org.png


Website: Chainbb

https://beta.chainbb.com


A different Frontend to display the content of the Steem blockchain (like steemit.com) in a forum format.


chainbb.png


Website: Dmania

https://dmania.lol


Memes on top of the Steem blockchain. Like 9GAG. Users can upload memes here freely and share them.


dmania.png


Website: Zappl

https://zappl.com


Zappl is microblogging on the steem blockchain (like Twitter). It's just the website for now but an app will be released before the 5th of November.


zappl.png


The STEEM blockchain is so much more than just Steemit.com.

There is an incredible amount of development going on next to Steemit.com and it's so much fun to follow.

It's all active development too. So these products tend to get better over time with new features and upgrades.

The biggest problem I face when explaining the Steem blockchain is separating Steemit.com from the Steem blockchain. People tend to think they are the same. But that's not true.

Even if Steemit.com would disappear overnight (I hope not) the rest of these websites and frontends would still work because the Blockchain is still there in the background and all the data would still be there.

That is what makes the blockchain so powerful.



Sort:  

Thank you for making this post. It's also nice to know I'm not the only one who finds this post very helpful. When I read the reactions I found a lot of people who are glad you made this post.

My only question is: how secure our keys when we sign up for those variety of front-ends using our steemit creds?

Dear @exyle You gave complete information and it is interesting. Let me come to know please the difference between steemit.com and steem blockchain

Hii dear friend @exyle, nice projects discussed here along with your respected Mom, very helping article for us now a days ve facing problems on steemit.com website, nice solution of these problem and issues. keep it up, hope for best

I also came across this one
https://stage.steemiz.io

Really nice summary of all the different front ends for the block chain. It took me a while to figure out the difference between the block chain and steemit. This article will be my go to source when I want to easily explain that. You should definitely do more of these :)

fantastic post my friend, you describe seven great project and they all can be used to access the steem blockchain, i personally use busy and chainbb and both of them fetches the exact same data which we have on steemit.com and if we found steemit.com is down we can use busy or chainbb, i also like to mentioned about https://esteem.ws it is another good project and we can access steem blockchain by downloading there mobile app on our i.phone, ipad or android devices, i absolutely agree with you my friend that these developments are created on top of steem blockchain and they surely add more strength to steem blcokchain and i am sure many more developments and projects are yet to come.

@exyle i also find https://stage.steemiz.io/@adnanrabbani/blog project even though i didn't use it yet but i like to hear your thoughts about this project.

Stay happy and blessed my friend and thanks for sharing

What about the keys? They will be requiring our Steemit creds upon signing up. How safe is that?

i think it would be better if you use your posting key to sign in instead of master password.

both great additions!

thank you very much my friend.

I love this. You really took your time to explain this. Thank you @exyle

Hey @exyle, your discussion with your mom better and informative for us like as new users low knowledge in steemit.com. nice description here. its easily understand how i used steem blockchain system without any doubt. As per the these condition you showing some imagine step by step & website by website. Also clearly explain how will I do solve some issues in blockchain system.
Absolutely better contribution sir...
Resteemed your post for see steem community.

I will use this post to support my words when I talk to my friends about the possibilities and benefits of steemit.
I might show it to my mother too.

@exyle,
I didn't know about 2 apps from this list and got an idea! Actually this is a very useful article for me too! Thank you dude you are always very helpful! Appreciate your effort!

Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48