Vlog #118: I believe the Steem blockchain will be much bigger than Steemit.com. Future thoughts.

in #life7 years ago

This morning I visited my friend @s3rg3 for a coffee. He's an active Steemian and likes to think, just like me, about the future of the Steem blockchain.

It's a lot of fun to talk about it and come up with new ideas.



One of the downsides I can see when it comes to Steemit.com, for instance, is that it portrays everything that happens on the blockchain.

This wasn't a problem before because Steemit.com was all there was.

But new platforms are being built on the Steem blockchain and soon Zapple (Twitter), for example, will be released and I can see some problems arising.

My friend @s3rg3 likes twitter. He will most likely like Zappl and he will use it many times a day.

But now my feed on steemit.com will be full of his Zappl postings. Making a mess. (Not his fault, just the way it works)

If I use the Zappl app though I will only see Zappl content and not Steemit.com content. That's way better.

But it goes further.

All the apps that use STEEM(power) as their token of choice will most likely have the same authors trending as on Steemit.com.

That could be boring.

This can (will) be fixed with SMT's. New tokens on the Steem blockchain that can be used on different apps giving new power to new tokens holders.

The whole beauty for me is that there will be one underlying system to run it all.

The Steem blockchain.

I talk about these ideas in my vlog.



Sort:  

History repeats itself.
Steemit will be like the big Facebook
SMT will be like the secret group on steemit, just like facebook.
SMT will only use steem blockchain to operate. Just like ERC-20 token.
Steemit one day will be like an advertising platform for SMT to advertise and acquire new members.

Just like The Lord of the Rings

“One chain to rule them all”

But from a visibility perspective, I see more use of filters becoming a requirement.

“One chain to rule them all”

I like that!

There surely has to be filters to hide other apps like Zappl appearing on an already busy feed!

Maybe there would be option in steemit to filter/hide other platform posts. Lets wait and see.

nice video my friend, it means that every body has to start from scratch to become popular in every SMT, well then it's so much opportunities created for every body and we have the option to select the best one, but the cool thing is that steem remains best of the best because every token build on top of steem blockchain so it directly empower the steem coin, well it's also a great opportunity for new steemians, if they found difficulties in steemit.com they can use other SMT's frontends, you are absolutely spot on there is so much going on and it will be great to see how actually it works practically, well all these developments ensures more that steem has great future indeed, Stay blessed my friend and enjoy your weekend, thanks for sharing your knowledge and inflammation with us.

I'm literally reading this post and replying on esteem because steemit is down again. Are the ddos attacks still going on? Or is this a new threat? It would be nice to know the reason for the recent downtime.
It most likely has to do with steemit displaying everything on the steem blockchain, just as you'd mentioned. Too many requests on the public RPC node could be another issue.

I don't know yet what is causing it. For now, it seems to work again.

Changes are coming to the websites that access the blockchain. I envision a group on modular filters that can be installed or removed from the individual websites. I have no evidence this is happening, but suspect it will be. Participants in each app or SMT will not wish to see all content on the blockchain, but may desire to access more than one.

@exyle Just like I said yesterday this will be very exciting for everyone that is here on STEEMIT now and those that will be here in the Future. There is in my opinion so many POSITIVE aspects of being one of the early adopters of STEEMIT.

It would indeed be very logical that the steemit blockchain will become more important than steemit.com. We will see more and more projects being built on top of the steemit blockchain.

New communities will make it soon a bigger platform and help each users to grow from the scratch that would be great

@exyle - Sir, you talked about a very sensitive content about Steem block chain.... And it's still at Beta level... So, everything will fix soon.... Moreover, with SMT concept we can see huge improvement of all existing Steem apps too.... Nice discussion Sir... Therefore, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59449.45
ETH 2406.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43