Visiting Markthal in Rotterdam for lunch with my friend Fabio and Bianca.

in #life7 years ago

The whole sushi festival failed this weekend. When I wanted to order the tickets today it was sold out! I didn't expect that al all. I guess Sushi is more popular in the Netherlands then I thought.

So Instead of going out for sushi tonight at the festival, Bianca and I decided to go for a nice lunch in Rotterdam.

My friend Fabio lives there so we gave him a ring to see if he wanted to join us.

His girlfriend is in Brasil for 4 months so we thought he could use some company.

He happily said yes!


FullSizeRender 8.jpg


The Markthal was build in 2010, it's very modern building. They build it next to the most famous church of Rotterdam. The Laurenskerk. Quite the contrast. The outside consist of apartments but inside you can find a fantastic selections of different foods and drinks shops!


FullSizeRender 10.jpg

FullSizeRender 14.jpg


Inside it's filled with amazing food and drinks.


FullSizeRender 11.jpg

FullSizeRender 12.jpg

FullSizeRender 4.jpg

FullSizeRender.jpg

FullSizeRender 20.jpg


We said down and had a nice wooden plate full of Serbian rotisserie pork and roasted lamb.


FullSizeRender 18.jpg

FullSizeRender 9.jpg


Sadly the place didn't have a liquor license so we could not have a cold one with the fantastic meat. Luckily there is a perfect place inside the Markthal to solve that problem. I had a nice 11.8% Russian Imperial Stout. Delicious!


FullSizeRender.jpg

FullSizeRender 13.jpg

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

FullSizeRender 3.jpg

FullSizeRender 15.jpg


They have one thing inside the Markthal that Bianca absolutely loves. It's called Churros. It's Mexican fried sweet dough with chocolate sauce. I know we are on a diet but a small portion (6) won't hurt. It was great!


FullSizeRender 19.jpg


Exyle logo final _ RGB-04.png


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

That sucks about the sushi festival but it looks like you had an amazing time. I love it when you post the picks of the shops in Rotterdam and the Netherlands. The culture there is incredible to see. They sell "real" food. I've shown my wife the pictures and we'd both love to visit to experience it. Everything here in the US where we live is pre-packaged, big box store capitalism at it's finest. We use to have some smaller mom and pop's stores growing up, but they've gone by the wayside over the years. I imagine they just couldn't compete with the prices the big boys could employ. Very sad. Every now and then we'll head out to Amish country and we'll experience a little of what you find in the Netherlands, minus the alcohol unfortunately. :)

Tell Bianca we agree 100% about the churros. We lived in Los Angeles for awhile and churros are my wife's favorite to this day. Her favorite are the ones rolled in cinnamon and sugar. A snack you definitely can't go wrong with! Thanks for posting brother and you, Bianca and Fabio have a great rest of the day!

While I am battling Irma, your post comes at the right time.
I like the Lionel Richie meme.
Enjoy and keep on steemit!

Interesting @exyle as I have seen the Markthal in pictures before but I had no idea it was so filled with such yummy food!? Maybe I should because does Markthal translate to market in any sense?

Yes, it does. Markthal (Dutch) = Market hall

Tickets for a sushi festival !?! that sounds like one super exclusive event then

Not sure, Think they were like 10 bucks each. But sadly sold out.

Looking at the pics I'm sure you guys had an amazing time...11.8% Russian Imperial Stout I hope to get my hand on that soon.

Churros are the best!! Definitely worth the cheat!

oh you just had an amazing day out :D loved to see the pics it was a great experience loved the food looks very tasty and Markthal is looking place just perfect.

Rotterdam becomes a really great city! Amsterdam has the name, but Rotterdam becomes better and better. Really worth visiting!!
The Markthal is fantastic, maybe you can also post a photograph of the roof inside, the roof is fantastic!!

The roof is indeed very nice! I don't think I have a picture though :/

Glad to see you guys enjoying yourselves with great food. I'm trying to save as much as possible in order to invest so cooking for myself is the only option :P

nice post @exyle, it's nice to see you going on outing with bianca every week and that's great way to start the new week in relaxed and fresh manner, wow markthal looks like all in one place full of all sorts of foods and drinks awesome all the photographs are fantastic and the food looks great, i hope it also tastes delicious. have a cheerful week ahead, thanks for sharing

You have a good week as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83