Trying out more creative outlets

in #life7 years ago

So, for about 3 months now I have been thinking about a vlog post now and then as a new way to be more creative. And I’m scared shitless. Because I never done anything like that before.

But I made one.

I have been practicing driving around between clients and I understand now why so many bloggers drive while making a video. It somehow focuses the mind.


me


Today, I put my camera on top of a wine box in my office.

I felt like I was back in school. If there was one thing I hated more than anything in the world it was giving a presentation.

That nervous feeling that one by one your classmates would get up and give their presentation and I knew I still had to give mine.

It would make me sick to my stomach.

I had the same nervous feeling before pressing that record button today. And it didn’t make any sense because there was nobody in the room except for me.


me
Such professional setup, for the recording I used my Iphone (not the cam as pictured) but I couldn't take a picture of the setup without it.


I want to evolve

Being in a comfort zone is great and I do a lot of fun stuff. Today, for instance, I went to lunch with my friend Serge because he earned his first Steem pay-out. (and to talk about business too).

me

He’s starting to become a real Steemian. I could have made a post about that but I just didn’t feel like it.

I feel like I need to try new things constantly.

So, here it is. My first vlog. I totally forgot to introduce myself and Bianca said I should have smiled more. But if I don’t jump in I’ll never move forward. Any feedback is appreciated.



signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Hey, my bro!

There was nothing to feel nervous about, you handled it like a pro. I like the direction you're taking with including videos to your blogging repertoire.

Look forward to more of the same from you soon, bro...

Thanks for the support man!

Well done, @exyle. You were brave!!

Thanks, @rea!

Im glad you took that next step, a big one if I may say, I want to do the same but can´t seem to find my spot you know? Like I feel i will stutter and say irrelevant things.
At first you were kind of tight but as the video continues you let youself loose and used a lot of body language, I think its great for a first video :D

Man, thank you so much! I think if you give it a shot you will be fine. You can always re-record. I had like 4 tries. I hope I can improve slowly. Thanks again, appreciate it.

Ill give a few tries, I have to start because i plan to upload videos of my travels! Thanks for the advice! Read you around pal.

Thanks so much. Great first effort. Enjoyed the video and found it helped me as an new user to gain more understanding of why Steemit is unique. I would go lightly with the editing and other bells and whistles. I think what you did was very effective and genuine. Experience gained in future videos will make the whole thing smoother.

Thank you very much! I'm actually glad I menaced to get something across :) It's odd talking to a camera and not a person. Your reply gave me more confidence! Thanks!

My takeaway is that Steemit has no corporate owner/shareholders to reap the value created by the user-created content. Steemit creates a system that allows the user to receive the benefit of the value from the content he or she created. And the extent of that value is judged by the vote of the other users. Am I on the right track? I have been on Steemit for 5 days.

You are very close. Everything you see on Steemit is stored in the STEEM blockchain. Steemit is just a really nice frontend to access the information stored in the blockchain.

There are other frontends like busy.org. Wich is the exact same data you see on Steemit but displayed differently.

The STEEM blockchain makes it possible to get the trust I was speaking about. And eliminates a third party to store the data (like FB). Nobody owns the STEEM blockchain and everyone can build apps tapping into the blockchain (like Esteem).

Only recently they made it all open source. Everyone is allowed to build anything they want on the STEEM blockchain now. They can even copy it and do what they want with it.

Every day there is a certain amount of new STEEM created to be given to the content providers/curators and witnesses. The value of a vote decides who gets what.

This is it in a nutshell.

Thanks so much. Getting much clearer to me. I did not understand that the STEEM blockchain is independent and a Steemit is just one way to access. I'm anxious to keep reading and learning.

wow, first vlog, congratz!!!
I couldn't do that :D nothing smart to say.
For feedback: you should speak faster and clearer, that's pretty much it.
If you wan't to attract people your videos should be more interesting. Add an intro, B-roll, music, cut your speech in post so there aren't any pauses (most vloggers cut their videos to create a continuous flow) etc. Watch the best vloggers on youtube and imitate them.
Good luck!! Steem on!

Thanks for taking the effort to watch it and give very good feedback. Really thank you. After doing this I have gotten immense respect for vloggers. It's not easy :)

Just be yourself. Your seriousness and passion comes through, and you'll get more comfortable doing it, even though you don't appear uncomfortable. Hope this helps.

Thank you very much for taking the time to watch it and give your thoughts. It helps a lot!

You're welcome my friend. I'll be looking forward to more of your vlogs. 😀

Wow nice vlog. Great explanation about the differences of traditional social media compared to this platform.

Good and interesting post, steem on!
This words for good day and your mood
And I want to give you a poem good word!

Kindness need all people,
Let more more will good.
No wonder they say before meetings:
"Good day" and "Good evening."
And not in vain because we have
Wishes "in good time".
Kindness - she of the century
Decoration person ...

It's amazing very motivational speach, after watching your vlog 200 and this I feel your hard work and how you are improving day by day ☺ I also think that steemit is an amazing social network, I am not sofamous here but about 3000 followers is also good ☺ I have also a group in facebook about steemit with almost 19000 members ☺ Thanks for your positivity and nice videos ☺

Followed this link from Dtube, your 200th video. I can see your frustration in explaining this to your friends. But do they understand it now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54