Trip to Porto, Portugal: Bianca is ill :'(

in #life7 years ago

Bianca has become ill in Porto. It started yesterday with a few coughs but has now developed into a full blown throat infection and light fever. We are bound to our Airbnb until she gets better.


me
Bianca and me on the subway on the way to the Airbnb


We did manage to visit some nice places yesterday morning. One of them being the Torre dos Clérigos. It’s one of the most famous landmarks of the city.

me
Visible from many places in the city


I have a thing for old buildings. Especially churches and I’m not even religious. I just think they are beautiful and show craftsmanship in the most amazing way. It took 18 years to build the Torre dos Clérigos. It was finished in 1750 but 267 years later it still standing strong and beautiful!

me
The back of the building. I love this type of architecture. I do wish the kept it a little cleaner.


me
The inside of Torre dos Clérigos


me
I thought the ceiling was beautiful in this color.


After the visit, we walked to a landmark sight high above the city where you had a great Vista of the city. It really was a stunning view.

me
A panorama I took with my phone

Bianca feeling ill

Bianca told me she kept feeling worse and worse with a lot of pain so we decided to return to the Airbnb. It was a long walk to the nearest Metro station so we stopped halfway at a local bakery to get some hot beverage for her and a coke for me and some nice cakes.

me

me


Bianca has been in bed since yesterday and I’m here taking care of her. I don’t mind, these things happen in life. Hopefully today she will feel a little better. She is still in bed while I’m writing this.

I did end up home cooking yesterday. I went to a local market and used my beginner Portuguese (I learned Portuguese because Bianca is Brazilian and I wanted to talk to her family) to get all the supplies we needed. It was fun to practice and the people here enjoy that very much! They are very helpful and kind here. It’s a nice place to be.

I hope Bianca will get better soon and we can see some more of this great city. On Saturday it’s going to be 13 degrees and full blown sun! We are aiming for that.

Fingers crossed!


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Hope she'll get better soon!!

Thank, you! I'm hoping she feels a little better today.

Sorry to hear Bianca was not feeling well. But I'm sure she'll be as right as rain very soon. Overall though, so glad you guys had a nice vacation (and for yourself getting away from the clamouring clients, lol)and wish you both all the best!

Thanks for a perfect continuation to your awesome life blog! :)

Sometimes just getting away from home for a long weekend feels like you been gone for 2 weeks. It's refreshing. I went out for a few hours going to a port wine tasting. Sadly Bianca had to stay in. She is feeling a little better though.

So sorry to hear that Bianca is not well and I hope she gets better very soon. Glad that you enjoyed yourself and had fun in the super market.

Thank you rea. I hope so too. It's fun to practice the language here!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.30 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44