Trip down my crypto memory lane. Altcoins.

in #life8 years ago

Today I wanted to organize my crypto holdings. It has become such a big mess. I own so many different coins and they are spread out over so many different exchanges, online wallets and cold storage that is hard to keep track.

My savior is an app on my phone called Coin cap. Within the app, it’s possible to create different ALT(coin) folio’s so I have some idea what it’s all worth.

I was going through different folders on my computers looking for wallets and I found these gems. They took me back to the past.


coins
These folders are all pretty old. Except Shadowcash. I forgot I had put that wallet there.


Quarkcoin! Damn you, Max Keiser.

I got into crypto around half a year before the super bubble of 2013. I bought my first bitcoins for just over 200 euros. It appeared the perfect time to invest because not long after bitcoin reached it’s all time high.

Back then I already used the same tactic I use now which is to sell on the way up. I did this and made a nice profit. I also made a vow I still keep today. I would always keep 1 bitcoin in cold storage hidden somewhere no matter what!

Around that time a lot of altcoins were popping up because everybody wanted a piece of that Bitcoin pie. (Not much has changed really)

I have never been that great with the technical aspect of it but I believe that most of these altcoins were just using bitcoins code and tweaked it a bit (shorter block times / more mining rewards / Lower or higher difficulty things like that).

max

When Max Keiser endorsed a coin called Quarkcoin I wanted it. I respected the man at the time. So I invested. It was the first time I realize you could definitely lose money FAST with crypto. It also introduced me to FOMO (fear of missing out).

The whole thing was a scam and just a get rich quick scheme. Good for him and a very good lesson for me. After Quarkcoin I think he went and created more scam coins (Maxcoin). I lost track. I don't bother with people I don't respect.

Marscoin!

marscoin
If you think Steem is ambitious just wait until you look at Mars Coin.

From their website:

Simply by using Marscoin, a bitcoin alternative, you will automatically participate in serious boostraping efforts to colonize Mars.

When I heard of it I started mining it. Another mistake. I quickly realized (and should have from the start). This was all bullshit again. I never mined much but it's a great example of all the coin hype that was going around back in the day.

wallet
My old Marscoin wallet. It won't even sync anymore

Dogecoin, the best community at the time

When this was released I was one of the first persons to mine it. I know this because when I sync the whole blockchain from scratch my coins show up very fast. I single mined Doge and found blocks. Doge is the only altcoin I mined and earned a profit.

I sold most of my Doge a long time ago but when I opened my wallet this morning I was surprised I still got around 400000 left (around 80 bucks). I'll keep them for memory sake.

Cool note: the blockchain still syncs perfectly.

wallet
Notice the cryptsy exchange, they went bust some time ago


What I really liked most about Doge was the community that spawned from it. It was considered the gateway crypto then (like Steem is now...but Steem is way better) and they had an awesome community.

They used to organize cool charity events and they even sponsored a Nascar race driver/car.

nascar
I still think this is cool as hell and very original.

Cool memories

Crypto has really changed from what it was back in the day. I think the only two that are left in the Top 10 from those days are Bitcoin and Litecoin. The rest have all been surpassed by superior technology.

I really wonder where we will be in 5 years from now.


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Ah, nostalgia. I have largely given up on mining in the conventional sense. I now dedicate my CPU/GPU to BOINC computations for science, and derive Gridcoin cryptocurrency as a result. That way I contribute to scientific research and get a little richer. It is in a way parallel to Steemit, post an article, and generate a little wealth for yourself.

Wow, that's cool helping science! I never heard of Gridcoin. I will look into it. Great reply thanks!

What I really liked most about Doge was the community that spawned from it. It was considered the gateway crypto then (like Steem is now...but Steem is way better) and they had an awesome community.

THIS!! I was subscriber number 6 or something to the subreddit! Also mined it from the start (on a laptop gpu, lol)

Great thread, thanks for the memories haha! Never mined Marscoin but I remember a phase where I would mine some random coins just cause the difficulty was low and it felt nice to get a big share of the block rewards, lol. :)

Wow, number 6! Impressive. I remember that phase too! I mined leafcoin and flappycoin...my goodness. What was I thinking but I had good times though and I learned a lot. Thanks for your nice reply!

Hey my bro!

Man, if ever you posted something that I can relate to, this is it! I too nearly bought into Maxcoin at one stage, can you believe it! Luckily you dodged that nicely after Quark...

Back in the day, I also invested in Dogecoin but sold it all for a small profit. That little dog's face hypnotised me, lol! I also remember when they were talking about putting the logo on a Nascar. A real trip down memory lane, my friend.

Man, your awesomeness just doesn't stop, right? Simply love this post and I'm sure will be referring to it way down the line when the eventual crypto winners are revealed to the world (please steem, be one of them!).

Excellent stuff! :)

Man, I am glad you didn't buy Maxcoin! That scam artist. Can't believe we share Dogecoin history, that is so cool. haha. They talked about that logo and then they did it. I still think that freaking awesome. I'm glad you like this post and yes I sure hope Steem will be the winner. I have good hopes. Bought some more today!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.66 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60961.08
ETH 2363.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52