Surprisingly you can use zucchini as 'pasta' in lasagna.

in #life6 years ago

I have to thank steemian @pele23 for this.

In a comment he recommended I check out Belgian chef Sandra Bekkari for healthy meals.

I did and found a recipe on her site for a Salmon zucchini lasagna here (It's in Dutch though).

I love lasagna but because of all the carbs I never considered it an option for Steemfat until now!

I will use this zucchini trick I learned in more dishes for sure.

It's very easy.


IMG_7519.jpg


The way to do is to slice the zucchini like this and coat each slice with a little bit of salt and let it sit for 15 min.

The salt will draw out a lot of the moisture that is in the zucchini. (you might be surprised how much comes out).

After just dry them with kitchen towels.


IMG_7505.jpg


I then used them as layers as I would normally do with pasta.

Because of the odd shapes it's a little bit more of a puzzle but it works.

It's also a little less neat than normally but who cares.

I'm here to improve my health not to win Masterchef :)


IMG_7513.jpg


The whole dish was delicious.

I liked that even after cooking the zucchini still had a 'bite'.

Makes me wonder what else is possible with Zucchini.

I'll have to do some more research.

This was promising!



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Wow! that's so good, I will try to prepare this coming week

It looks very beautiful and tasty @exyle,you will be a great masterchef one day.Your betterhalf @bkdbkd will be happy with your cooking.Enjoy your day dear.

Hello my dear friend @exyle, what fabulous ideas you have found, and you wonder what else you can do with the zucchini, I will show you with a photo one of the dishes I prepared, a few months ago, and it is zucchini spaghetti, it is maximum, you should Try them out and encourage them to do it one of these days.

IMG_20180105_105937.jpg

This looks delicious too.

Good recipe and it will surely be of good taste, but need to confirm to the taste to say how's gonna look 😂 I did the voting for witness up here for @blockbrothers. Thanks .

Thanks for the support!

i do the same

I cut them in fine slices but put olive oil and balsamic vinegar on them and then rock salt and some pepper.
Those you then grill on your green egg
that is a truly amazing taste.

Done this before but without the balsamic! will try this! Thanks.

amateur cooks have to stick together. :-)

I'm here to improve my health not to win Masterchef :)

lol I don’t care how it looks either, taste is what’s most important to me. I love lasagna as well, but because of my diet, I just removed it from my list. However, zucchini seems to be great alternative.

Got a couple for zucchini's in fridge and I was going to make pasts anyways tomorrow. Gonna try this put for lunch. Will try to see how it goes and of goes will I will add a picture.

Thanks for sharing man :-)

My wife just made something similar the other day. She made zucchini boats and put the stuff inside of them like it was a stuffed pepper. It was really good. We also do a lot of stuff with spaghetti squash. She makes an awesome casserole with it. I am not going to say it tastes like real pasta, but it does taste good enough that I don't mind I am not eating pasta. We usually make it with a little bit of chorizo to give it some depth while still being relatively healthy.

I swear! I love that! Will you share the recipe please? I would like to try that...

It's linked at the top.

Ohhh... I see... Thanks! I did not see that because I am using mobile phone yesterday. Now I see...

Zucchini is great to use raw zucchini in recipes too. I have also started exploring that option. I recently made a most salad - it was not only delicious, pretty to look at but also filling. I can share the recipe if you would like it.

Never thought about eating zucchini raw. Sure share the recipe!

Never thought about
Eating zucchini raw. Sure
Share the recipe!

                 - exyle


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60