Quick burritos with home ground beef, guacamole, and a salsa.

in #life6 years ago

It was my time to cook tonight and I had no idea what to make.

Bianca and I went to the shop to buy her some sparkling water and hopefully be inspired by something.

In the shop, we went to, they put stickers on products that are about to be thrown away.

You get a nice discount (35%).

I found tortillas, meat and a bag with cut ' Mexican' vegetables on sale.

Mexican (Dutch) Burritos was the meal for tonight!

Pretty healthy I would think.

Bianca found a can of refried black beans. I never heard of it but she guaranteed to me it was good stuff.

I always like to try something new so I went it.

Let's cook.


IMG_2031.jpg


Ingredients: Meat, refried black beans in a can, Salsa, red onion, garlic, cilantro (for me, Bianca hates it), Tortillas, bay leaves, dried lemongrass, cayenne pepper, paprika powder.


IMG_2002.jpg


I cut the meat into strips and then put them in the meat grinder. It takes about a minute to grind everything.


IMG_2003.jpg

IMG_2004.jpg


I cut an onion and crushed some garlic and put them in a pan with some oil. I fried them for 2 minutes then I added the meat.


IMG_2008.jpg


I added bay leaf, cayenne pepper, paprika powder and salt to the mixture.


IMG_2010.jpg


I cooked the meat till just under. Then I added the vegetables.


IMG_2013.jpg

IMG_2014.jpg


While everything was cooking I made a quick guacamole by mixing together an avocado, red onion and cilantro.


IMG_2015.jpg

IMG_2016.jpg


Then came the most adventurous part of the dish. I opened the can of refried black beans. Now if you own a dog you understand my initial reaction :). But it tasted great. I added it to the mixture and also added some water.


IMG_2051.jpg

IMG_2017.jpg

IMG_2021.jpg


I took a tortilla and put it in a hot pan (no oil) to warm up.


IMG_2020.jpg


End result! A very simple yet tasty dish! I added the meat mixture in the middle and topped it off with the guacamole and salsa. Folding them is not my strength (as you can see) but it works!


IMG_2025.jpg



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Since I started making salsa, I just made a bowl of salsa and love the parsley flavor. I used it for like salad and yeah some avocado.
Good job nice burrito.
Keep on steemin'

delicious friend everyday you are doing meal mexican, it a delicia

Whoa! You have your own meat grinder!

Yeah, I bought it about 2-3 year ago. Wasn't that expensive either, around $50. I mainly use it to make hamburger blends.

WOW, discount for food what is still good. That helps all of us, in the pocket and for the environment.
And see, it looks delicious, it looks fresh and sure it taste even better after the discount :-)
Have a nice evening after this perfect prepared dish !

The poeple I am following here at steemit, you are the only one male chef in my friend list. Your every single post amazes me and sometimes I feel jealous that I cannot cook like you.

@exyle I think TACO BELL is hiring here in the U.S..........

Thanks, always good to have a nice fallback for when STEEM hits $0 :)

@exyle yes it is good not to Burn your Bridges................

Tortilla recipe is always great, and this recipe looks really tasty. I would have cooked it without the blackbeans.
I like blackbeans mixed in yogurt, green chilli , boiled potatoes, , and cherry tomatoes. Chilli, potatoes and tomatoes should be cut in small pieces, and then add salt, some spices (like red chilli powder). It tastes great.

I have never seen them in a can so I laughed heartily when I read the dog food bit and then saw the picture!

Me neither but they are really nice once you get over the dog food part :)

They are! My girlfriend makes quesadillas with them, having fried them in garlic and chilli with smoked cheese as well in the filling. They are awesome but she soaks the dried beans overnight. I have always thought it a faff so I would be tempted to go down the tinned route myself lol!

You sure are a great cook buddy :)

The dish does indeed looks yummy as we speak ;)

We've been a trek for a healthy lifestyle here and one of my go-to meals, one that my husband loves, is fajitas made with venison and all the healthy veggie toppings. I'll whip up my kefir sour cream with green chilies and a dash or two of cayenne pepper to top them off with. We just had them Monday- so easy, yummy and healthier for us.

Refried black beans are AWESOME for dipping with toasted tortilla chips for a snack too. Did you end up liking them?

Sounds delicious! How do you prepare the venison?

I'm a fan of refried black beans now too :)

I rub in a mixture of spices and seasonings- cumin, crushed red pepper flakes, a dash of cinnamon, onion and garlic powder and some paprika, slice it thin and quick sautee it up in EVOO. I add some sliced green bell peppers and onions. And if I have fresh jalapenos from the garden or dehydrated I'll toss a few in, seeds and all.

Wow! That sounds great. Must be pretty spicy too with the jalapenos! thanks for sharing that.

It can be but when we add the sour cream and avocado/guacamole it tends to smooth out the heat to a more palatable level

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56847.11
ETH 2970.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29