Potato Gratin with steak from the Green egg.

in #life7 years ago

I lifted the lid from the Green Egg and it felt very 'lose'. I realized most of the screws were semi-loose.

A quick google search and asking my friend Serge for confirmation I learned this is perfectly normal. A couple of times a year you have to tighten the screws. The heat is the cause.

A couple of years ago I bought a pro toolbox. It comes with all kinds of handy gadgets. I don't know what this is called in English but it's very handy. I use it all the time.



After all that hard manual labor (it took me about 30 minutes) it was time to cook! I just lit the BGE. The sun agreed.


FullSizeRender 15.jpg


Peeled and then sliced the potatoes with my mandolin.


FullSizeRender.jpg


I bought recently bought these small cast iron pans. I put butter all around the inside and arranged my first layer of potatoes


FullSizeRender 12.jpg


Added cheese and the first layer of cream.


FullSizeRender 11.jpg


On they go. I managed to build 4 layers each.


FullSizeRender 8.jpg


After 30 minutes they come off looking like this. I figured because of the cast iron it will stay warm for a while so I just left it while I made the rest.


FullSizeRender 3.jpg


Bought these steaks at the store for around 4 dollars total. Good marbling on them. I used a beef rub to give them some extra kick.


FullSizeRender 14.jpg


On the steaks go. I'm getting better at getting grill marks on the steaks. (240-250C)


FullSizeRender 10.jpg


End Result. The potato gratin was creamy and cheesy and had a nice 'crispy burn' (is there a word for this) on the outside and bottom. The Steak was perfectly medium rare. I served the meal with some salad, grilled mushrooms, and couscous.


FullSizeRender 6.jpg

FullSizeRender 2.jpg


signature Follow Me @exyle


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

Rechecked twice to find the hidden play button in the images. But there wasn't any. I mean I was looking for a video, Anyway i love looking at your green egg posts. The food looks simple yet yummy. :)

O man, I'm sorry. I hope this helps.

Yeah man!! I am honored. :)

Now that's a plate my friend!! I had to take the laptop downstairs to show my wife what you did with the potatoes b/c that's looks incredible. Once Steemit has it's own decentralized youtube style platform, "Cooking with Exyle" needs to be one of the first channels on there. :) Btw, that tool is a ratchet. Have a great day brother!

Man, that's so cool! I hope you get to make it one day with her!

We call that tool a ratchet. It definitely comes in handy. I love your grilling videos by the way....keep them coming!

Thanks! It's handy to know what it's called!

Simply Delicious! As always you have made me hungry again... This steak looks the best among all yours previous attempts....Deserve 100% upvote!

Wait how did you make that creamy and cheesy potato thingy.
I want to try it too! Nice, nice! Well done.
Love your cookin!)

It's just layers of sliced potatoes, cheese, and cream. Make the tower as big as you like :)

That tool is a ratchet. It is very helpful. I love your food post keep them up. I am probably going to get my dad a green egg soon.

Glad to see nothing bad happened to the green egg and you got it back up and running in perfect condition.
The steak looks delicious with those wonderful grill lines.
Great to see you so happy :)

Thanks, man!

That happy face when the sun showed up. Totally worth it. You're getting better at the plate dressing bro.

thanks, bud!

"Grilling is life." I heard that somewhere. 🤔 Grill (and Steem) on, Mark! Your posts brighten my day. 😀

Thanks, man! And It sure is! What an amazing way to relax! Does painting do the same for you?

You're welcome, Mark. For hobbyists, I think painting is relaxing because they're doing it for fun. It's different for a serious professional: it's more like work, because it requires concentration and energy to do something of high quality. Steem on! 😎

The green egg cooks steak like a charm! Anytime you wish guests over to 'help' out, count on me! :)

You would always be welcome m8!

Haha great! BBQ invite noted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51