Pasta with green pesto and chicken, leaks, red pepper, black olives, pine nuts and bacon.

in #life6 years ago

Bianca was working all day so again it was my turn to cook.

But I don't mind, I got my cooking groove back.

I decided to go all out today on a chicken pesto pasta.

I bought all the goodies that make it extra great, like pine nuts and black olives.

I also made extra much because I work tomorrow myself for a company I have not let go yet because of contracts.

I wanted to take some pasta with me for lunch tomorrow.

Let's cook!


Snapseed 22.jpg


Ingredients: Penne Pasta, pine nuts, black olives, cherry tomatoes, a jar of green pesto, red onion, 2 peppers, a leak, bacon and chicken breasts.


Snapseed 3.jpg


As usual I like to prep everything before cooking. I forgot the red onion in the picture above.


Snapseed.jpg

Snapseed 2.jpg


Get two pots on the fire, one with water for the pasta, and one big one for everything else. I added a little bit of oil straight away.


Snapseed 5.jpg

Snapseed 6.jpg


Start with frying the bacon till semi crispy then add the chicken and cook it through.


Snapseed 7.jpg

Snapseed 4.jpg

Snapseed 8.jpg


While the chicken is cooking take a separate dry frying pan and put it on a low heat. Add the pine nuts to give them some colour by toasting them a bit in the hot pan.


Snapseed 9.jpg

Snapseed 10.jpg


Add the vegetables (except the tomatoes) to the chicken and cook for 3 minutes.


Snapseed 11.jpg

Snapseed 12.jpg


Add the pesto to the pan. After add some water to the jar (close the lid and shake) and add it also to pan.


Snapseed 13.jpg


The pesto will be pretty watery and needs to reduce a bit, that gives time to cook the pasta. This Penne needs 11 minutes according to the package but you should always undercook pasta and finish it in the sauce. I cooked it for 7 minutes.


Snapseed 14.jpg

Snapseed 15.jpg


After 7 minutes drain the pasta and add to the sauce stir it and just let it sit there for a couple minutes.


Snapseed 16.jpg

Snapseed 18.jpg


Almost there. Last step is to add all the goodies. The Tomatoes, toasted pine nuts and black olives.


Snapseed 19.jpg

Snapseed 20.jpg


End result: Fantastic, I love this pasta. I don't always make it with all the goodies but it does add to the experience. All the flavours work well together. I added some extra cheese on top (should have been Parmesan but I forgot to buy it).


Snapseed 21.jpg



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Oh yum! Now I know what I'm cooking tonight. Thanks @exyle!

yes this is a very good cuisine.

@dougkarr not just you alone.

this dish reminds me of my father who double us as a great chef and a plumber. While he takes contracts all over at construction sites, he never misses coming back thrice in a week to prepare the dish. Was too young to know what the food is but it just tastes great.

And it looks just like this!

Thanks @exyle

Like starting everything from scratch.
It shows true dedication to eat healthy and a good chef that I learn a lot from.
Keep on steemin’

@exyle,
Wow this is amazing! How it taste with Pine Nut? We called locally as Rata Kaju and I never add it with Pasta before! I will try this out! Thanks dude!

Cheers~

This pesto pasta is the only pasta where I know that it works. Although I'm sure there are others.

When I see you cooking this healthy delicious food, it reminds me what my grandmother always said “Don’t eat anything your great-great grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food. There are a great many food-like items in the supermarket your ancestors wouldn’t recognize as food.. stay away from these”
Looks delicious!

Sound advice from your grandmother. I do try to cook what I recognise, lol.

But eventually in this age we will probably be able to produce food in a lab. And that doesn't mean it will automatically be bad! They will with science probably be able to perfect it. We are living in an age where we will experiment a lot with upgrading our bodies. Clearly we will experiment more with what we eat as well. Think in the future we will eat tiny pills that contains all we need to easier live in this new fast-pace world. Our ancestors lived in a different age. Today we will experiment with all areas of life!

That’s what my grandma always says, but I say “We are mutants, we can eat anything and it doesn’t kill us oppose to a few decades ago”

Haha. Whatever we are we are going off the rails lol. 🚄 The amount of alternative lifestyles we will see oh boy. Clearly we are living longer so we are doing something that works! I don't like these that tries to make food into a religion. We are so different in how we react to certain kinds of foods. And just as with genetic variation we need food variation. People that fill different categories!

Nice! another mouth watering post! I am sure it tasted amazing. :)

wow amazing recipe indeed, i really like pasta and chicken and especially cherry tomatoes and red onion are my favorite because they increase the flavor and taste of the dish and they are also full of nutrients and vitamins, i note down the recipe and i surely give it a try and man the end result of the dish is no doubt superb and it looks so tasty too, thanks for sharing this recipe with us and wish you a very joyful and cheerful week ahead friend, Stay blessed.

I might try this soon, i enjoy cooking but i dont cook very often though... I dream of helping my wife in the kitchen when she is heavy with pregancy and when she is busy...romantic

Try it man! She will love it.

I sure will, i cooked for my 2 sisters for 4 years when we lived together in the University, mostly when i didn't have lectures.

That looks super tasty your wife have to be proud to have a man like you friend. Regards

she should! lol :)

Hi @exyle it Looks delicious like all your dishes..
I think could easy be a chef in your own
Restaurant..

Enjoy your evening!

Kind regards

Pasta could be this different and tasty wow didn't imagined that very creative you are with cooking skills always trying out something new :)

Once you know some basics you can create anything you want. Cooking is a nice skill to have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05