On days like today, it's truly a blessing to be self-employed.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I just read in the news that we had 1500km of traffic jams in the Netherlands today.

A new national record.

The reason? Snow. A lot of snow.

We are simply not used to handle it very well. (including myself...when I hit a car yesterday).

Tonight a lot of people are still stuck in train stations and airports waiting to get home.

On days like to today, it's truly a blessing to be self-employed.

I canceled everything, turned on the heating, and didn't leave the house.


IMG_7507.jpg


When I look outside my window tonight I see trucks filled with salt passing by every hour.

They are doing their best to clear the roads.

The Netherlands is an incredibly tiny country by the way.

It's only 16.040 mi². So 1500km of jams is a lot!

Here you can see my country projected on a map of the US.

It gives the right idea.


dwadwadwadaw.png


Not everyone was obviously so lucky as I today that staying home was an option.

Including my good friends and blockbrothers @s3rg3 and @eqko.

They had to battle the snow to get to work and I salute them for it.

It must not have been easy.

I'm glad that they are in @blockbrothers now and that we are working so hard on our witness together.

I'm hoping that with time, hard work and dedication we will do well.


Since I really started to understand blockchain and crypto, I always believed that there was a possibility that crypto would make me financially independent.

Now, I am now convinced that will happen in the years to come.

But in the end, this is boring to do alone.

Having your friends along for the ride is much better!


ps.

The guy of the car I hit was supposed to come round tonight to sort the paperwork.

But he couldn't make it.

There was was to much snow...

Always the bloody snow....



I have recently become a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

Amen to that bro

yeah I didnt make it to work today because of the snow. I live in belgium

It was truly a blessing to buy BTC in 2012, so I don't have to work at all.

Yeah, that is the best kinds of blessings :). Congrats man. Great foresight.

The bitter truth is that we have put a lifetime opportunity to be a billionaire
I do not know, but we must not stop, we will live it once, so we have to get to what we want to create a steemit a very beautiful opportunity, I hope we are successful with it, but in hand and helping others to succeed we can get
Who agrees with me and my best greetings to you?
@exyle
@schattenjaeger

It's good to know that we (England) aren't the only country that grinds to a halt when it snows. I was cycling in Holland a few months ago and the cycle infrastructure is incredible, they probably even grit the cycle lanes!

We do indeed grit (salt?) the bike lanes.

Dutch Traffic really sucks ...
Today I was working from home in my current job as an IT Consultant ;) But also as off today I have a big anounsment I will quite my job and will work fulltime in Crypto!!! :D

Check out my post about this: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrencies/@deobrands/getting-started-in-the-blockchain-space-professionally

That's great! Good luck!

1500km of traffic jams what!! Interesting I thought Netherlands often got snow, lucky you @exyle I am working on being self employed and yea with all that snow its no wonder the guy didn't show up lol.

Voted for the blockbrothers and got the app! Thanks guys, good job.👌👏

Thanks for your vote!

Wow great story about snow. Yes it creates great difficulty for the people to connect with their duty. But friend if you upload some pictures of snow it will be great pleasure to look to us. As I live in the tropical climatic region so we never experienced snow fall here, except Jammu and Kasmir in India, other places are very mild climate available. So please upload some pic of snow. Thanks for sharing good post, enjoy your holidays.

lol on your map! I'm happy for you and glad you are not out fighting the mess.

I pray every day that I never live by an alarm clock again. I did it for over 30 years. I used to get up at like 4 am to study and then go to work by 7 and be done by 6 to get my kid and on and on.

Now I've been on my own since 2008. Whenever things get bad, I will try anything - but not if I have to get up at a certain time. I feel sick if I even think of it. I've been very fortunate and I'm still here with no alarm and definitely no commute.

@exyle Staying Warm and Making Money and Not going out in the Snow, Priceless !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94