Old job skills rescue the day and finding a small amount of Bitcoin.

in #life6 years ago

EACA4B84-C009-4968-8558-46D6B8A76115.jpg


So yesterday I found myself back at my old job!

My mom's husband somehow managed to crash his computer the day before and my mom asked me to check it out for him.

Upon arriving I saw that the computer for reason X had gone into recovery mode removing a bunch of programs and settings.

An irritating event but not total disaster. But I know that especially older users can get upset with this because they work from a certain structure and as long as the structure is in tact everything is fine. But break the structure and anarchy ensues.

So, I reinstalled the much needed programs and restored the settings to how it used to be and saved the day.

He was very happy as you can imagine!

While there I also check out my mom's laptop and low and behold found a small amount of Bitcoin I forgot about in a wallet.

That was happy event!

She asked me to change it into STEEM, which I did.

We had a chat about Steem afterwards and the upcoming changes and she explained to me it's very difficult for her to keep up with all the development.

She's not the only one! Me too!

So I did my best to explain the most exciting upcoming changes in a nutshell.

And after that I left and it will be around 2 months before we see each other again with all the traveling we both will be doing.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Excellent work, my friend and it's always great when your knowledge and skills in computers can come in handy, especially to close people. Especially you were waited with a pleasant surprise with the found bitcoins, which were useful for buying the Steem and it's great. Well done! Thanks Mark

Meeting with family, fixing what's broken, finding some digital treasure and reunion with family again in a couple of months ......... I think it is the best kind of a day a man can have :-)

Hello @exyle, I hope that soon you will be with your mother and that she does not have to spend so much time to be with her, it shows that you are a great son to help her in everything. blessings dear friend.

While there I also check out my mom's laptop and low and behold found a small amount of Bitcoin I forgot about in a wallet.

lol It’s like free money or winning the lottery. I’m just curious, was the bitcoin your mom’s or yours? I know it’s your mom’s laptop, it’s just amazing to know your mom would be into crypto and forget about buying some bitcoin 😆.

It was her's. She is well invested in crypto :)

Good on you for helping your parents. That is great.
My mother has the same trouble with technology.
I wish I was going traveling with them, I feel the need for a holiday soon, though my bank balance says otherwise. LOL :(

I hear your voice/accent when I read your text now :)

Haha! You joking!

Sounds like a fitting and pleasant way to catch up before your upcoming travels. In smooth cool no-nonsense @exyle style! I bet you helped them both feel much more happy as they went to sleep that night!! Overall, a great & successful day 😊 Well done!!

Gosh. Two months is a long time. 😢

Lucky the computer "broke" when it did.

found a small amount of Bitcoin I forgot about in a wallet.

Sounds like a great result all round. 😁

My mom travels a lot. I'm trying to convince her to get a MacBook. The reason being, if she's in a foreign country when her laptop fails, I won't be there ...(hrmmm unless she flies me ...). But in almost every major city, there is an Apple store.

Cool thing about you traveling
you still can "work" and post
since a bulk of your "work"
reside online.
Man! time and our life are changing.
Keep on postin'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59171.28
ETH 2598.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42