Nasi - Rice with chicken and vegetables with a satay sause. (Dutch version).

in #life6 years ago

When I was single I used to make this meal a lot.

It's perfect to make in huge quantities and eat it for 3 days straight.

I don't make huge amounts anymore because now that I live with Bianca we eat something different every day.

What helps is that she is a very good cook and master of a whole different cuisine.

Which reminds me of something my dad used to tell me.

Mark, find a girlfriend that can cook, it's very important!

Guess I hit the jackpot :)

But this meal my mom thought me how to make it when I was young.

It's a Dutchified version of fried rice I guess.

I like it a lot, reminds me of my youth.


IMG_6302.jpg


Ingredients: Rice, Asian spice mix, red pepper, ginger, chicken, vegetables and satay sauce.


IMG_6282.jpg


Start with frying the chicken until cooked.


IMG_6283.jpg


In the meantime fry some rice in a little bit of oil (2 min) and add water till just under. Keep adding water till the rice is done.


IMG_6284.jpg


Add the spice mix to the chicken and stir for 2-3 minutes.


IMG_6285.jpg

IMG_6286.jpg


Add the vegetables and keep frying/stirring.


IMG_6287.jpg

IMG_6288.jpg


Prepare the satay sauce. I never learned how to make one properly (I tried many times but it just doesn't taste good). I use one from a package where you add water. I would love to get tips.


IMG_6290.jpg

IMG_6291.jpg


Add the rice to the meat mixture and stir.


IMG_6293.jpg

IMG_6294.jpg


I like a fried egg on top of my rice. As luck would have it I got one with a double yolk!


IMG_6295.jpg


I also like a good spoon of mild Sambal. It gives a nice kick to the meal.


IMG_6296.jpg


End Result. I love this version because it reminds me of my youth. But I'm pretty sure it's not 'original' (if there is such a thing). I would love to learn how to make one from scratch and cook it. If you have any recipes let me know I would like that.


IMG_6306.jpg


Sort:  
Loading...

My 2 goto peanut sauce recipe can be found here

If I have lots of time (almost never)
https://www.foodwine.com/destinations/thailand/peanutsce.html

The usual
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/45446/satay-sauce/
(Crunchy Peanut Butter, Soy, Coconut Milk and sugar)

Definitely a fan of the mix between tasty and healthy with this dish. If I were you I would use brown rice but I'm a bit obsessed with my protein intake :)

Excellent recipe, it just looks like a chicken biryani or we also call this dish as an vegetable chicken biryani and you make it perfectly, i love the way you add those vegetables into it this certainly makes the dish full of nutrients and no doubt vegetable also add more flavor into the dish, you also add egg with it in the end, well honestly i never try egg along with rice and meat but i surely try it i hope it also tastes great, i note down the ingredients and technique of you dish and surely try it soon, the end result of the dish is marvelous, thanks for sharing such nice recipes with us, Stay awesome.

Wow ! yummmmy n delicious ! Its looks like fried rice here in kathmandu ! Rice is our national food . I love rice .... mouth watering photo dear @exyle ! 👍👍👍😋😋😋

Wow, my friend, you once again amaze us with culinary mastery! Meat in general is my weakness, and even more under the fragrant sauce and with the addition of a side dish, it's just a dream! Thank you @exyle for the wonderful recipe :)

Can't help with the satay, I haven't made a good one either, and never heard of sambal. Love yoky eggs with almost anything. Wouldn't have tried it with rice. Great ideas. Glad you have a partner in yum.

Nice pictures that can make one hungry instantly.
Your dad spoke well. As far as she loves you and can cook, go ahead and marry her. A woman who loves her husband and knows how to cook is most times the best woman to marry, because she she will always do all her best to please you with her talent which is Cooking.

Ohh what a delicious post.
And get the reason why

It's perfect to make in huge quantities and eat it for 3 days straight

Because this is so delicious.
You made me hungry again.
Great post

Yummmm! Wow, @exyle you're making me drool, haha. I've never made an authentic satay sauce either but I've done some similar sauces so you're definitely inspiring me to try my hand at it. I'll let you know if I come up with a good from scratch recipe for sure.

Would like to see you have a go at making satay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95