My mom is safe back at home and for dinner kale mash with smoked sausage and bacon to relax.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Everything went according to plan today.

I got a call from my mom ( @clio) around 11:30 that I could pick her up from the hospital around 13:00.

I left my house 12:30 and made my way to Rotterdam.

I drove to the 'pick up and ride' entrance of the hospital to realize there was no parking spot left.

I rung her up and asked if she could come downstairs on her own.

She asked a nurse to carry her bag (she can't lift anything for 6 weeks) and appeared at the doorway about 5 minutes later!

I then drove her home.

She's back!


IMG_5884.jpg


I couldn't stay long, so I followed her up the stairs to her house while carrying her bag.

Her husband Sjoerd (he's a little bit older and not comfortable driving to the hospital on his own) was waiting for her and I could tell he was over the moon to see her.

My job was done.

My mom was really tired so I think she went to have a nap straight away.

I drove home and called Ezzy about tomorrow.

Bianca and I will pick them up from the airport in the morning. It's all sorted.

Food


For food tonight I was craving Dutch food. It's gotta be done from time to time.

Bianca is not a 100% fan yet so I made it just for me and she had something else.

She understood me though and those little things are really important.

The meal I made is so simple yet almost every Dutch person seems to like it.

It's kale mash with smoked sausage and bacon.

the stars of the dish. Kale and Smoke sausage.


IMG_5897.jpg


It needs to simmer for 30 minutes. Enough time to prepare the rest.


IMG_5898.jpg


I peeled enough potatoes just for me and put them to a boil.


IMG_5900.jpg

IMG_5901.jpg


Once the boiling starts you dump the kale on top and close the lit for 15-20 minutes.


IMG_5902.jpg

IMG_5903.jpg


Every meal is better with Bacon. So I fried some bacon.


IMG_5905.jpg


After 20 minutes I drained the potatoes and the kale and mashed them. I then added the bacon and I added a little milk + salt/pepper to taste)


IMG_5907.jpg

IMG_5908.jpg


I cut half the sausage into slices. The rest I'll eat tomorrow.


IMG_5910.jpg


End result: Dutch food. Nothing fancy at all but something that I crave from time to time. It was lovely and a good way to celebrate today. Next week I'll prepare some food for my mom and take it to her.


IMG_5913.jpg


Sort:  

Happy to see your mommy.
You are a potato lover.
Good dish by the way.
Thanks for sharing

Glad to see your mom is doing well. This post is quite nice; if you could only change 'grave' to crave, it would look even better. Hope you didn't mind me pointing that out :)

O lol! Thank you, fixed!

Looks perfect now :)

All in all, this was a good day. Sometimes an authentic Dutch meal can be so very tasty once in a while! Especially what you made tonight. It really is a meal for the colder season.

Yes, it was! Sometimes authentic Dutch meal even beats green egg when the craving is too strong :)

Know that you had a stress relief the other day when the surgery went well, but your Mom coming home is great! Check in on her each day if you can.

People get stubborn sometimes and will say lift something they shouldn't. If your Mom knows you will be there at a set time to take care of a few things she will be more likely to leave them.

I help out with my grandparents a lot. If they know someone is coming they will leave little projects, but if I just stop by they tend to have done them on their own. Maybe it's just their stubborn German nature, but guessing it's just more of an independence thing.

Hope recovery goes smooth for your Mom!

Great news, it's good to hear that your mum come back to after the successful operation and now she just have to rest well and take the prescribed drugs on time and i hope she will get back to normal routine life soon, i wish her a speedy recovery, i really like you dish as well it's so simple ans easy to make and the end result of the dish is excellent, it's looks so tasty and delicious and i hope it also tastes great, i should also try it, Stay blessed my friend.

Thank you!

Great that your mother is ok @exyle time for some well deserved rest I think and that dish looks simple enough for me, sausages hmmm.

Thank you!

@exyle,
That's great you could pick your mom on time and as we all wished she is back to normal! Then it's party time! Great work friend! You could balanced everything very well!

Cheers~

Glad mum is back, from the last post you write about her recovery, I was praying she recovers well, and am happy to see her strong. hmm that meal. Looks so enticing. Dutch food looks really good. My only worry is that you are celebrating alone, not even with Bianca. But it would be nice if you upvoted my own celebration funds in this comment. Lol. All the best

I often cook this but less than when I was single. Bianca likes Rice and Beans. It's her comfort food I guess.

Off course, when you were single you could eat anything you wanted, but now that Bianca is a part of your life, you have to consider her. That's marriage my dear. Nice one @exyle

Congrats.. Yeeepie.
Wow. This is making my day. Really happy for you and her.
Pls try not to isolate her. Its good we know how long she wont be able to lift things so you or close family friends can make plans on how to help out fully. Let her rest for a while. If she cant really use her arms, she could walk around the house. Light exercise will improve her circulation, mood and healing.
A couple of days after my friend's surgery, she decided to walk around her backyard in circles for 20 minutes, and after that, everything shifted for the better.
I am glad you have a grateful spirit from your last post. It’s easy to fall into a sea of self-pity after surgery, but there’s always something to be grateful for. In my friend's case, she was grateful there was a surgery that could fix her problem, and that the pain wouldn’t last forever.
As for the food. This really calls for some delicious potatoes. Would have loved to be a part of that. :) Thanks for the cooking tutorials. Steem on!

Kool, you look so much like mum, and I loved the way she leaned on you when taking that picture. Am happy she is felling better. So happy for her. And for the food, it's making me salivate here, that sausage looks really good. I guess you'll take it down with a bottle of soda. All the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62