My first attempt to make an Indian chicken curie from scratch.

in #life7 years ago

I love Indian food but because so many ingredients are used it's just easier to go out and get it somewhere.

But I felt like trying to make one today.

I looked up a recipe online that looked decent and went to the shop with Bianca to go and get all the stuff.

It turned out that ingredient wise this recipe was probably the most complex I ever made but it was one of the easiest to prepare.

If you are wondering why I'm pointing to an empty pan...well...that's because for the first time ever I forget to take a picture of me with the food.

And by the time I realized it everything was gone!

It was yummy.

Now I understand that this probably is not the most authentic curry in the world so if any of you guys have any improvements, I'll gladly hear it.

Let's cook.


IMG_1902.jpg


I don't think I ever used so many prep dishes. Ingredients: Crushed garlic, onion, curry powder, cinnamon powder, paprika powder, bay leaf, grated fresh ginger, sugar, chicken breasts, tomato paste, yogurt, coconut milk, cayenne pepper.


IMG_1860.jpg

IMG_1863.jpg


Get a skillet or a large pot and put in some oil and fry onions until lightly brown.


IMG_1865.jpg


Next step is to dump in all the ingredients on the right, quickly one by one! And stir! for 2 minutes. (garlic, curry powder, cinnamon, paprika, bay leaf, ginger, sugar)


IMG_1866.jpg

IMG_1872.jpg


The kitchen filled up with an amazing smell of all the spices! After 2 minutes of stirring it looked like this.


IMG_1874.jpg


Next step is to add the rest of the ingredients, minus the cayenne pepper. (chicken, tomato paste, yogurt, and coconut milk)


IMG_1875.jpg

IMG_1880.jpg

IMG_1881.jpg


I stirred everything together and then it looked like this. It had to simmer for 25 minutes.


IMG_1882.jpg


25 minutes gave me plenty of time to clean the massive amount of prep dishes that I used and I also cooked some rice. 25 minutes later I added the cayenne pepper to the dish and let it simmer some more for 5 minutes.


IMG_1893.jpg


End result. I was so happy with the way I served the rice, but Bianca called it tacky :). Anyway, it tasted great! A lot of flavors and some good heat. For a first try, there was nothing wrong with this! But I have to be honest when I go out to get it, it's better...the flavors are way deeper and more complex when the pro's make it. Still, it was fun to try something new tonight!


IMG_1898.jpg




I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

this looks tasty!

There... you did it again... I'm hungry now! I need to relocate soon, so that you can invite me over for dinner every day! Did I already ask you, if you want to marry me? 😂

Wow thats delicious :) Indian food is one of the best! I visited India before and tried different dishes there, Yummy!
Next time try to make Fish curry. It is very delicious and my favorite curry :)

Good work! You made me hungry now!

Wow!! Sir @exyle. You are great. Excellent cooking. My son loves chicken very much. I cook always many different ways for more tasty. Now I have got the new recipe. This is your's recipe. I will try it today must.
Your decoration is awesome. White rice with chicken curie. Bianca is right but though it is tacky, it's taste will be awesome. Thank you @exyle sir for sharing the delicious recipe :)

Alright no, more tacky rice! :)

Hey exyle,
Just for some information it's called Murgh Makhni in India.
A quick tip also grind the ingredients after cooking on medium heat for a while then strain them,then put on heat the strained masala add curd and chicken in between.lastly served it with some dried fenugreek powder and heavy cream.

Oh, yes, fresh ground spices are so much better than powder. It adds to the cooking time, but certainly makes a difference! I've been doing Thai green curries recently, grinding up fresh galangal, garlic, chili, lemongrass, and basil all together - so much better than the pre-mixed pastes!

Thanks for the tips and the name of the dish!

wow amazing recipe indeed, i really like indian chicken curie and especially crushed garlic and onions are my favorite because they increase the flavor and taste of the dish and they are also full of nutrients and vitamins, i note down the recipe and i surely give it a try and man the end result of the dish is no doubt superb and it looks so tasty too, thanks for sharing this recipe with us and wish you a very joyful and cheerful week ahead friend, Stay blessed.

Oh wow what an amazing food you have made there..Indian Chicken curry is very hard to make because there are a lot of ingredient in Indian food..There are many step as you wrote and as i am Indian i have a experience to make it..Never saw anyone sharing Chiken curry recipe and all India food are very spice too..You had made an amazing food and it must be taste..Very happy to hear some some in steemit likes Chicken curry..Have you ever been to India?@exyle

No, I have never been to India.

My friend, that dish looks too tasty!! Send me some to Venezuela hahaha.

By the way, buddy, if you ever get a chance to try Venezuelan food, do it because you'll love it...

I'll leave you the most famous ones around:

Arepa

Pabellón Criollo

Cachapa

Greetings and a hug my friend @exyle :)

Pabellón Criollo, looks great! After Bianca (@bkdbkd) introduced me to rice and beans I love it.

Good thing you love it, buddy! It's an excellent plate... Greetings :)

Just like most of the food posts you normally make, this one is also quite exceptional. I like the way you broke down the preparation process in a detailed manner, such that it looks quite so simple. I would love to try this. I hope another type of pepper can be used asides the canyenne pepper?

Looks nice. I do the same at home and make always a huge amount of the paste since this is a lot of work. I freeze the paste in small portions and it is then really easy to do a curry from scratch. Just add vegetables and coconut milk. The best one I have ever eaten. 😊

Great tip about the freezing of the paste. That would save a ton of work in prep time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47