Money doesn’t make you happy you just need to have enough of itsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

I bought a lottery ticket for the New Years lottery. It’s held in the Netherlands at the end of the year. I buy one every year for as long as I can remember and although the chance of winning is close to 0% It doesn’t bother me. It has become a tradition.


me

Christmas dinner with friends. I was in charge of grilling the wings on the grill outside. All the food was marvelous. Simplicity is what I like.


It got me thinking again what I would do with this kind of money. You can win up to 30 million. And to be honest I do not have a clue. I don’t want to own more stuff. I have everything that I need and I’m already very happy.

There is only one reason why I would like to have it.

I am missing one thing.

Maybe it’s a Dutch thing, I’m not sure, but I have a savings buffer. This buffer is there to deal with shit if it would come my way. Including worse case scenarios like: What if all my clients would run away at the same time.

In that case, I need time to recover. My buffer buys me that time and it gives me incredible peace of mind.

Now extend that buffer to 30 million and you can basically deal with any worse case scenario.

That would be great!

My goal is to become financially independent

I would like to become financially independent in the future. YES! This is my dream. Just to have that peace of mind. To no longer be dependent on anybody money wise.

Of course, winning the lottery would just be a shortcut and very unlikely. I’m going to get there anyway. My goal in the next 10 years is to become financially independent while doing what I love to do. My work!

I hear all around me that 2016 was a bad year. It wasn’t for me. For me, it’s been one of the best years and it has shown me what is possible in life if you just change your mindset.

2017 is going to be even better!


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

I suggest Mrmoneymustache.com if you are going for FI

Cool website! Thanks for the link.

Man, I hope you are one of the extremely lucky few who actually does it! I for one would be ecstatic as such an awesome guy would have won!

Here's to hoping, my bro. Roll on, 2017!!! :)

Haha! It would be magical but it would also be cool to get there by my own hard work! Thanks man!

That's a great goal and one you're well positioned to accomplish because you're doing what you love. Best of luck to you in 2017! Have you hear of the book Choose Yourself? If not, I would highly suggest reading it. Cheers!

I'm indeed very lucky to do what I like doing. I had not heard of the book but because you recommended it I ordered it (second hand) straight away. Should arrive within 8 days. I'm hoping it will give me more new insights and ideas. Thanks Eric for the nice comment! 2017 will be great for all of us I'm sure!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66