I’m so happy lately and it’s all because of me! Part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

I set my own stage for happiness by taking back control of my life. Four years ago, I stopped smoking, started exercising and grew a beard and it changed my life. I was finally changing from a boy to a man.


sister
He's not mine, my sister had her first child, I'm so proud of him and her. I just felt like showing him off


Getting better jobs!

I was always scared of taking on bigger jobs (I work in IT, self-employed) because my mind always told me I wasn’t good enough. I would fail. It would be much smarter if I just stuck to what I knew.

My friends used to joke about my work. They would say: “Mark earns money changing printer cartridges at old people’s houses! Haha! (loser)”.

Man, remarks like that would kill my confidence like my work was meaningless. Even though I knew they never meant anything by it.

But I was changing. By now I felt so good and had a much more positive outlook on life. When my friends made jokes now I just told them to fuck off! I realized I was earning my own money, paying my own bills and taxes. My work mattered! Standing up for yourself is key and a great confidence booster!

work
Working in my office

It paid off. As luck, would have it a doctor called me up one day and asked me if I would be interested in taking over their IT work. Their IT guy was leaving and they needed a new person.

Old Mark would have said 100% no. Way too scary! But New Mark said yes! I went there and got the job. This was huge for my business. I redid the whole place with a colleague and we did a fantastic job! They are still my client today and very happy. This client made me realize I was good enough to do bigger things!

Since getting that one client by the end of 2013 my company has grown a lot! And I did it all by myself!

Stop playing games and finding love

I never looked for love. Being single never bothered me. I always said to myself it either happens or it won’t. Well, I can tell you now it certainly will never happen if you stay at home and play World of Warcraft in your free time. Not that there is anything wrong with playing World of Warcraft. Man, I loved that game! But instead of working many hours on my in-game character I now worked hours on my own self.

Bianca, my girlfriend, tells me all the time. Positive energy attracts positive things! And I must agree with her.

2,5 years ago, she sends me a message on a dating app. Although I was feeling good there was one thing I was still scared off (read: hopeless at). Relationships and seducing the ladies (lol).

When we went on our first date in Utrecht, weeks later, I was nervous as hell! Sweet Jesus, I hadn’t been on a date in years. I felt clueless. But it was a great day and by the end of the date, I felt that I wanted to kiss her. I liked her a lot and I felt she liked me. But how? I told her I wanted to see the big tower in Utrecht that was lit up by lights. So, we walked there and then I just stood there awkwardly…clueless.

And then she had to ask me! If I wanted to kiss her! Haha! It still makes me smile how bad I was at this. But it also makes me smile that I would have never been there with her if I hadn’t changed my life!

I don’t mind telling this story to anyone anymore because we are together now for 2,5 years. There is nothing wrong with being single but being with the right person I find much better!

bianca
Bianca and me after I got more pro at being in a relationship

The latest thing I learned about happiness

Four years ago, I decided to change my life. It has brought me many amazing things that have truly enhanced my life. More confidence, more happiness, a healthier body, better work and much better jobs and a fantastic girlfriend. And I know this is just the start.

Although I have done a lot of this on my own I am absolutely convinced now that being surrounded by the right people is the key to further improvement. One of the things that made me realize this, funnily enough, is Steemfest (Another thing I would have never visited in my life if it wasn’t for my transformation).

Of all the fantastic people, I met at Steemfest, there is one person that I kept in contact with daily. It’s @ezzy. He’s the type of person you want to be surrounded with if you are trying to improve yourself. He’s insanely positive and he encouraged me to write more and gave me the confidence that what I write is good enough. I can’t ask for more than this.

ezzy
Ezzy and me @ steemfest


If you are thinking about a change in your life I highly recommend you do it. Life is too short to fuck about. I can truly say I haven’t been happier in my life than I am right now. But there is only one person that can start it and that’s you!

Thank you and good luck!


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Wonderful post, @exyle. Congratulations to you! Sometimes all it takes to change your life is a shift in mindset!

Thanks, Eric! And you are right. Shifting your mindset towards the positive can do wonderful things!

Loving that positive mindset. Resteeming.

Thanks, man! Being positive is the best!

Hey brother! Man, a sweet, sweet post. Uplifting, transformational, inspirational, sensational, an overload of greatness in your words! So many people will let life pass them by and realise only when it's too late. You took the bull by the horns and everything else just fit nicely into place in a relatively short period of time.

You're one seriously kool friend to have and putting yourself out there also allows others the pleasure of knowing you too. I'm sure many more great things lie in store for you, just gotta remain positive and believe in you!!

Fantastic article, my bro! Let the good times keep rolling on! 😃

Hey man! Thank you for encouraging me and become more confident at writing! You are a very good friend to have! Let the good times keep rolling on indeed!

This is a remarkable story. Great anecdote for the new year! I think who you spend your time with makes a huge difference in how you decide to push yourself to be better. And how you push yourself to be better will set you up to meet the right kinds of people, and opportunities. So, here here, and thanks for sharing!

Thank you for your nice comment @littlescribe! You are so right in what you are saying and it matches what my gf keeps telling me: Positive energy attracts positive things!

Powerful @exyle!
Stoked as to see your progress as the future unfolds brother!!!

Thanks, man! The future will be beautiful!

Inspiring to say the least!

You, @exyle are my first vote as I am a brand new member and what a positive heartwarming read to enter my way into Steemit.... > Of course I will follow you! In closing, I hope I am able to understand how this all works and be able to fit in as this is overwhelming for me, right now.

Thank you so much for your kind words @pitterpatter and I feel honored that you picked my post for your first upvote. As you will spend time here you will hopefully find (like I did) that this place is fantastic and filled with the most wonderful and diverse people you can imagine! Welcome to Steemit!

Hi @exyle - you are new to me but I feel like I already know you after reading this awesome post. You've got a new follower and I cannot wait to read more about you. :)

Thank you for your nice words @merej99. I will write as I go trough life. Sometimes I will write stories about my past. Sometimes about the present and sometimes about the future. Occasionally I like to review a product as well. I sure do like technology. I hope you will enjoy my future writings.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@exyle, tudo bem? Um prazer conhece-lo e seja bem vindo a minha página de seguidores :) Um grande abraço.

Tudo! e você? Prazer também! Abaço.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84