Vlog 248: Yesterday Steemit.com was sluggish but the blockchain was fine. Steemify kept running great because @blockbrothers build Nozzle.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Yesterday Steemit.com and Busy.org were a bit sluggish.

I had lunch with our @blockbrothers dev @bennierex yesterday and he explained to me what he thought that a reason could be.

He said, there was either something wrong with the API or with the full node(s) that is being used by these frontends.

The blockchain was never in danger and all your funds and data are fine.

Many noticed that communication with the blockchain was working perfectly through www.steemitstage.com proving the blockchain was fine. It uses a different API or full node.

With Steemify we solved this problem of not being able to connect to a full node with Nozzle.

A tool @bennierex build.

It will basically cycle through different entry points until it finds one that it can use to connect to the blockchain.

What is Nozzle?



Nozzle is a free, opensource, low-level steemd RPC client, a Python library for the Steem Blockchain. It aims to allow developers to communicate with the Steem blockchain in a reliable way.

Functionality:

  • Auto retries and failover to backup nodes.
  • Clean error handling.
  • Customizable retries and timeouts.

get it here



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I found difficult at time to comment but I still could my way around.
I guess we need more like busy.org, steemkr to tap into steem blockchain.
Keep on steemin'

this is the positive of the decentralised platform if one front end goes down we have many yesterday was a bad day not cool at all but busy was ok ok not doing bad great that blockbrothers keep it running :D

Yesterday was very challenging but we survived!

Well great to hear that we are in great shape again with the platform :)

With so many options there is always a way!

Glad the blockchain is fine. May the best frontend win. Love the competition.

Patience is another strategy that worked for me,

@doctorjohn, I also used this strategy yesterday. :-)

Patience didn't work for me! It just gave an error message. I had to abandon ship!

Owk now I have learnt something new from you video. Didn't know initially how the blockchain was run and didn't understand what the API and nodes were all about.

From your explanation you said we have about 10 full nodes and steemit.com and busy.org are connected to one while steemit stage .come is connected to another and chainbb.com to another . What other sites are connected to the other nodes? Or are they just free without connections ?

I havnt heard of chainbb before and would love to check it out. I always thought steemit.com gives us the opportunity of seeing our very first post. Never knew we could only see 6 months back...lovely.

Pls protect yourself from the snowey cold. It's quite hot here in Nigeria and we are currently begging for the snow you are experiencing over there...lolzz.

Do have a nice day @exyle

Yesterday I had some friends talking about the issue on there access to Steemit on the group chat, but I came late to login and was it has already been resolved.
It's cool to hear how the steemify app keep running.
I will like to congratulate @benneirex for his good works on the steemify app, and for his creative mind.

yesterday steemit.com was fine sluggish blockchain.this is a very good news and great work of you. you lunch doing with dev @bennierex yesterday.i hope you take a good experience of nozzle.its very important for steemit blockchain.its developed to doing commuinication of steemit blochchain matter.so,every steemians should be know this matter.thanks to sharing of your good post sir @exyle.very well done of your good work.

Good thing that it's now back to normal. I'm amazed that there are tons of platforms that you can go to when you are down. I've just learned about steemitstage.com yesterday. ^^

It was a relief before the sluggishness started that I finished my blog post of the day just in time. There were instances that this happened in the past but I am frustrated that I cannot do my daily things on Steemit. Upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31