Hurray! Poloniex and Bittrex enable STEEM withdrawels and deposits again.

in #life7 years ago

I wasn't too happy when Bittrex disabled withdrawals and deposits a couple of days ago.

It left Blocktrades as the only viable exchange partner for me.

For me, Steem only has (monetary) value at the moment if it can be traded for other crypto or fiat (euro/dollars).

The user base is not big enough to use it as an actual currency as of yet. I can see this change in the future.

I am paying designer @twistychips for a logo with Steem Dollars as a test of how businesses could be run on the blockchain.

The guy is doing an incredible job and recently send me new drafts a couple of days ago. The guy is a pro and doing way more than I thought possible for the 250SBD I offered.


FullSizeRender.jpg

Enjoying my morning coffee


The fact that you could not deposit or withdrawal Steem on Poloniex for such a long time should be considered as a warning really.

I would recommend taking your Steem out if it's not there to be traded. You never know when they decided to start this again.

Remember any crypto you have on an exchange is just a ledger entry on the exchange. You don't own any of your cryptos while it's on an exchange.

I did a test withdrawing 4 STEEM form Poloniex and it worked fine. It once again reminded me how awesome the STEEM blockchain is.

After starting the withdrawal procedure I had the STEEM in my own wallet within a minute.


3.png

Succesful withdrawal


signature Follow Me @exyle


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

It's good to know that deposits and withdrawals are working at both exchanges. It's a good idea to not keep steem on the exchanges in general especially Poloniex unless you're planning on immediately trading them.

Is there any chance we can see some drafts of your logo? I'm interested in hearing about how the logo designing process.

I'll ask @twistychips about it.

wanted to up vote this comment to make is exactly $1

~AoM RMars

I would like to see the Steemit website add a section for buying good and services from other users with Steem/SBD.

Good to see they are back online! :)

That's especially good news that Polo has opened it up again. I thought it might give up on steem and any narrowing of options is bad!

Yes, the more option for trading the better!

Oh! God ! finally. I wrote a post yesterday only asking people for help since Both Polo n Bittrex disabled transactions. However I started using Blocktrades which is pretty good for conversion to BTC and I am happy that I don't need to rely on Polo or Bittrex anymore. I think the rates in Blocktrades.us is also better. Any idea?

I mostly use blocktrades because it's convenient. I think they are usually a little bit more expensive than exchanges but it's just easier :)

OH! :)

@exyle great update and I'm glad that the have been removed as I remember in your video about 2 days ago you mentioned this. This hopefully will nw allow the price of Steem to climb back up to $2 and beyond where it belongs.

I still don't really understand how to use poloniex with steem. Am I able to buy steem power on poloniex using my steem dollars like how can on the Steemit website? Or do I buy Steem dollars on poloniex using fiat? Does Steemit have a wallet address like the other cryptos too?

Sorry for the questions, i'm just not really sure about this. Still learning.

Steem has an internal Exchange. You can change SBD for STEEM if you want to there. If you want to change SBD to another crypto you have to send it to an exchange or use Blocktrades. Steem has a address like other crypto's it's just better and simpler. Your address is your username.

Thank you so much for the clarification !

Thnx fr d info..waiting for days to withdraw my steem

Glad it's back on, yeah for a little bit I was worried there.

Great news about Polo. Steem isn't a buy for me at it's current price, but I'm going to buy some anyway just to get it off Polo. When @jerrybanfield releases his video on this, hopefully it will dramatically increase awareness to this situation and help get some Steem out of Polo. He has over 9k followers on Steemit and his total social media following is quite substantial.

Would love to see how the logo is coming along from @twistychips. I just recently saw where @nanzo-scoop is doing this also. You're starting a trend brother! Have a great day man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65