Havaianas!

in #life6 years ago

IMG_9327.jpg


"You are not taking your Gringo flip-flops to Brasil!", Bianca said a little over a week ago, "Take your Havaianas!".

And that was that.

Havaianas I guess are the national footwear in Brazil and when the sun is out and nothing else counts.

Me walking around in my gringo flip-flops would be a big no-no for her and a tell tail sign there is a gringo in the neighbourhood.

Personally I would think that my size (6"6) would give that away straight away but who knows?

You can find these flip-flops literally everywhere here. Even in the supermarket:


IMG_9288.jpg


They come in all sorts of colours and models now.

I just checked wikipedia and they sell 200 million of these flip flops world wide every year!

Also a nice fact is that a Scotsman Robert Fraser in 1962 invented them.

A scotsman inventing Brasils national footwear, pretty cool!

I do like wearing Havaianas for short walks but for longer walks I prefer the more solid gringo flip flops that I got (at home..lol) or shoes.

But maybe I'm just not trained enough yet wearing them.

I Still got plenty of time in Brasil to get used to them properly.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

The cool thing is they have their texture from car tires.

They were so poor in Brazil that people would cut up old tires and create these crude sandals.
So perhaps it's a bit ironic that a foreigner would come along and "invent" them, and turn it into a business.

They were so poor in Brazil that people would cut up old tires and create these crude sandals.

What? No! LOL, 100% not true.

Hmm yeah I can't find any source for that now, so I guess you're right :-)

I could have sworn I read / heard that somewhere when I was travelling in Brazil.

Great prints on these flip flops!
You should buy a pair with the Steem logo on it.
(Maybe next year, when it's $10.)

Hello friend, I have some very similar to yours that are normal here. the detail is that we do not go out in the street in flip flops hahahaha that is not done here, it is good that you have the freedom to go out with them, apart from the fact that the sun is very strong and you burn or mark your feet with the ropes of his chancla. regards

Hahahahahaa. It's all about getting used to, @exyle!! Those sandals are super comfortable, especially because of the heat in our countries. They are perfect for going to the beach and can be washed at any time. I have mine! And the best part is that they're not expensive. You should be careful not to step on surfaces with water because you may slip. Keep up the good work. Take care and greetings

It's funny because I just said to @exyle that what I like about these flip flops is they are slip-proof. Wearing Havaianas guarantees me slip-free walks, even on wet surfaces @nancybriti. Could it be that the import quality is different from domestic quality?

Good advice! thanks!

A lot of those here in the Philippines.
But mostly imitation Havaianas not original.

I love wearing flip flops at home. Perhaps mine are made in Brazil 😆. For outside, I mostly use my running shoes. Once I started using them for my jogging hobby, I just loved them. Running shoes are the most comfortable shoes of all. They are great for your knees as well especially for me, when I run a lot.

So what's the difference between Havaianas and flip-flops @exyle?

Apart from the colour they look the same to me. 😁

Nothing, Havaianas is just the brand that invented them

According to Bianca it's also quality. This is what I found: Havaianas' aerated rubber soles are seen as key to the brand's success and their manufacturing process is kept under strict wraps.

I holland the weather is getting better, i always wear havaianas, and no I will not make a picture, lol.. maybe you could do a havaianas picture contest by the way...

Hurrah for the Scots!!! :0D

Although I struggle with them too and stick with my more mannish ones, hehe

I think we should drink to that tonight :)

Haha too funny! Flip flops are so specific in terms of their comfort and wearability (if that's even a word!) Like nothing is more awkward than uncomfortable flip flops! And, nothing is sweeter than good ol' reliable ones either! I am curious what 'gringo' sandals might be...i am seeing large velcro buckles at the toe & front of the ankle? Am i in the ballpark with that image!!?

HAHAHAHA! No it's not that bad. More along the lines of this:

🙊Birks!??? Oh my lanta. Nooooo! I can't believe it.... these are possibly my favourite sandals! This can't be so!! 😂

20180831_070051.jpg

I will consider myself warned in the event that i visit Brazil! Goodness me!! Oh my.

Is that what they are called? O man, I love mine too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83